1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What Gauge wire

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by asmallsol, Dec 2, 2003.

  1. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    This weekend is when I am going to be doing the swap. I have bought just about everything that I need for the swap, including fluids, belts, clutch (already installed) ect. Last thing that I need is the wire for the swap. Do I even need it, and what gauge.

    The number that comes off the top of my head is 8 gauge wire, but I could be wrong.

    (for those who dont know, I am swaping in a 95 GSR into a 95 sol, using the Sol harness and the GSR p72 ECU)
     
  2. rudeludenotmeanthough

    rudeludenotmeanthough Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    wiring for what? battery, solenoids, sensors?

    for sensors/solenoids i think you can use 16 gauge. 8 would be OVERKILL.

    for battery, and grounds probably 8 guage. good luck!

    EDIT: the smaller the gauge # the bigger the wire. vise versa

    edit # 2 wow i have over a thousand post...
     
  3. MaliWho97

    MaliWho97 Senior Member

    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    8 gauge is way too big... If you are wanting stock sized wire, you will want to use 14-16 gauge.
     
  4. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!

    Why are you using a del Sol harness on a GSR engine?

    Just get yourself a GSR engine harness, add the IAB & Knock sensor wires, call it a day.

    I used 18 gauge wire for my add-ons.
     
  5. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    i used my del sol harness on my b series swaps and only had to extend the o2 sensor wires, since i ran hondata/p28 and it didn't look for the knock
     
  6. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    Adam, I would Like to run the knock sensor just for security reasons. I also have to do some wiring for the IAB. If I had more money, I would just buy a skunk2 manifold but...maybe later.

    Where did you end up putting the O2 sensor? The normal d series location (middle of header/manifold) or did you do the b series location of right at the CAT?
     
  7. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    i used my z6 harness... and everything reaches except the oil presser sender. since i have an aftermarket guage, im probably not going to plug it in at all... waste of time for an idiot light.

    and all i have to say is fuck knock sensors.

    i can, however, see your point for wanting the iab hooked up.

    o2, put it by the cat- it gets a better reading there

    so, you really shouldn't need any wire :)
     
  8. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    word on the FUCK knock sensors...

    you will have to extend the O2 sensor wires though...
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page