1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

which ecu for d16y8

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by philyphreak2127, Jan 3, 2008.

  1. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    I swapped a d16y8 ecu into my 98 civic dx. which ecu should I run so I can wire up vtec?
     
  2. 93civicracer

    93civicracer Oh, I do a little here and there.

    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    If you swapped in the y8 ecu then you already have a vtec ecu because the y8 is a vtec engine so naturally the ecu will run vtec.

    If you meant you swapped in the y8 motor and you're asking about the ecu then check the reference section in the tech forums.
     
  3. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    sorry I didn't swap the ecu. lol but I'll check the tech forums.
     
  4. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,840
    Likes Received:
    396
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Seriously? You just answered your own question...

    If you swapped a D16Y8, then use a D16Y8 ECU...
     
  5. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    what is the ecu code? I'm not retarded enough to ask a question like that.
     
  6. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,840
    Likes Received:
    396
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Then look it up. There's an ECU list in the reference materials on this site, and the one you need is on there. I know because I just went and looked at it. I'm not going to spoon feed it to you though...
     
  7. monotech909

    monotech909 Got V-tec?

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Inland Empire
    you can use p28 (obd-IIa) ecu or p2p and of these will work for the D16y8.
     
  8. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    I ended up buying the p2p thanks though.
     
  9. wadocrx

    wadocrx honda builder by nature

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    :rofl:
     
  10. SpeedLife95

    SpeedLife95 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Which is better p2p or 028 for my d16y8
     
  11. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,319
    Likes Received:
    429
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    You arent going to notice a difference on stock maps, spend money in power adding mods
     
  12. Megjpete23

    Megjpete23 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    So I'm new to this. I just bought a 99 Honda civic ex 5 speed. The kid I bought it from said he did a motor swap. Well once he did that it created an idle issue. He said it was the idle air control valve, but I got that replaced and still didn't fix it. So upon research I now think it's because it's the wrong ecu. Could that be the problem?? (Ive checked vacuum lines and all other common problems for idle issues.) when the cars in neutral the idle jumps from 1000-2000rpms up and down up and down. It also bogs down at lower rpms. any information would be appreciated!!! :D
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page