1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

which ecu for d16y8

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by philyphreak2127, Jan 3, 2008.

  1. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    I swapped a d16y8 ecu into my 98 civic dx. which ecu should I run so I can wire up vtec?
  2. 93civicracer

    93civicracer Lick my nuts.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Texas
    If you swapped in the y8 ecu then you already have a vtec ecu because the y8 is a vtec engine so naturally the ecu will run vtec.

    If you meant you swapped in the y8 motor and you're asking about the ecu then check the reference section in the tech forums.
  3. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    sorry I didn't swap the ecu. lol but I'll check the tech forums.
  4. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    11,557
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    274
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Seriously? You just answered your own question...

    If you swapped a D16Y8, then use a D16Y8 ECU...
  5. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    what is the ecu code? I'm not retarded enough to ask a question like that.
  6. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    11,557
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    274
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Then look it up. There's an ECU list in the reference materials on this site, and the one you need is on there. I know because I just went and looked at it. I'm not going to spoon feed it to you though...
  7. monotech909

    monotech909 Got V-tec?

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inland Empire
    you can use p28 (obd-IIa) ecu or p2p and of these will work for the D16y8.
  8. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    I ended up buying the p2p thanks though.
  9. wadocrx

    wadocrx honda builder by nature

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    :rofl:

Share This Page