1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why am I running lean now?????

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by gocivicls, Aug 26, 2003.

  1. gocivicls

    gocivicls Senior Member

    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    forest city, NC
    <_< I have a 95 LS n/a and it runs great! I put 270cc injectors and fuel rail from a 2000 EK9 CTR on my motor, and now it feels good. Why does my a/f meter say that I am running leanish. Not all the way over to lean but 3/4 the way. I have a B&M fpr and I adjusted the Fuel Presure from 40psi all the way to 70psi and It will not go anywhere near rich........I know that lean is more power but is also Dangerous. I was thinking of some factors but I want to hear what you guys have to say!

    HELP!!!
     
  2. saturn_boy96

    saturn_boy96 88 C1V1C 53D4N DR1V3R

    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    Sheridan, WY
    i don't really know if this will help, but did you reset your ecu once you installed the new injectors?
     
  3. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    why is your fuel pressure so high? you shouldn't be higher than 40psi
     
  4. gocivicls

    gocivicls Senior Member

    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    forest city, NC
    To answer both questions, I pulled the neg. terminal so that should reset the ecu.
    My fuel presure stock is 30psi-idle and about 40psi full throttle. I bumped it up to try to richen the a/f mixture. And it stays in the stoich area most of the time toward the lean side of the meter...........I know that they are not too accurate but it should at least cycle form lean to rich as you drive constant speeds, but like I say it stays stoich or in the middle. :roll:
     
  5. saturn_boy96

    saturn_boy96 88 C1V1C 53D4N DR1V3R

    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    Sheridan, WY
    try getting a biger fuel pump if your really worried about it, but i wouldn't worry unless you are hearing detonation. if it doesn't ping i think your okay, just keep the good fuel in it and you should be okay.
     
  6. gocivicls

    gocivicls Senior Member

    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    forest city, NC
    I don't think the fuel pump is the answer, it may be, but I think it has to do with maybe the ECU.............It is NOT OK because I have CTR B16B pistons to be installed and then my cr will jump up two pionts. Then I will really see a diff. in A/F mixture.

    Anybody back me up or disagree feel free to speack up, fuel systems are another language to me!

    I measured 11 ohms on the stock injectors and 12.5 ohms on the CTR's, this may be a factor.
     
  7. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,129
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    pull the negative off the battery and then stomp on the brakes to bleed the rest of the power. The ECU will keep the memory unless it's COMPLETELY dead. I've taken my terminal off to put in a new starter and it kept my radio settings for some rason.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page