1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

why does vtec ecu work on non-vtec engine

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by mad-racer, Feb 2, 2004.

  1. mad-racer

    mad-racer Junior Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    will this hurt the motor because of it's fake vtec
     
  2. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    no it will throw a code

    if you just want to plug it in to limp the car around for a while that's fine, but i wouldn't recommend using that ECU all the time... VTEC ecu's are worth money... sell it and get the right one
     
  3. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    yeah man, especially if its an obd1 p13. those go for like 300 on ebay. sell it, pick up an h23 ecu of your obd, and with the change, buy a hooker :)
     
  4. mad-racer

    mad-racer Junior Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    how will it hurt the engine ?
     
  5. mad-racer

    mad-racer Junior Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    the vtec kick hard around 5300 rpm and lose hp around 6400-7000
     
  6. mad-racer

    mad-racer Junior Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    i aspect more torc on this motor at low rpm like 3500 - 5000 it'll at least burn in second gear while rolling around 30 to 40 mph.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page