1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wide band Questions

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by poops87, Feb 22, 2006.

  1. poops87

    poops87 Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Location:
    WPB FLorida
    Yeah im wondering, when i get a wide band O2 sensor does it just hook in to where the old O2 went or does it have to get converted to a different signal
    Does it just go strait into the ecu O2 signal like normal

    Don't new Hondas have O2s with the heater thing too like the wideband why can't i just grab one of those Wide Band O2s and rig it to work on my car?
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    a wideband is a tuning tool. the stock ecu will require the standard 02 (unless you disable it via crome, etc) signal still. i'd suggest tapping/welding in a 2nd bung in your downpipe for it. the lm-1 wideband comes with a bung to weld in as well as a screw cap to cap it off when you're done tuning or don't need that port any more.
     
  3. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    i just removed the o2 sensor completely. and put the wbo2 in its place. then i ran the wideband output and the narrow band output to a switch and then to the o2 input on the ecu. this way i can choose which signal the ecu sees (wideband for tuning, narrow for normal driving) but i ran a resistor to the stock ecu to simulate the heater so it didnt throw a code while in "narrow band mode". works great for me, no welding.
     
  4. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    When I'm tuning, I just disable the stock o2 code, and connect the analog wideband signal to the ecu for datalogging purposes. When I am done with tuning, I turn the stock o2 back on, and disconnect the wideband. done. You don't have to run with an o2 sensor if you don't want to, if you disable the o2 in the ROM.
     
  5. poops87

    poops87 Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Location:
    WPB FLorida
    so the ecu will still read the wide band and use the signal to determine fuel adjustment or not
    and when you data log it will still read the voltage and you just have to read it in lambda

    How do i datalog in Turbo edit?

    And thanks for the info by the way





    I'm also looking for a cheaper alternative for the LM-1 kit for 500 dollars
    any other kits or cars i could yank the wide band off?
     
  6. smooth_criminal

    smooth_criminal Senior Member

    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    You can go with the LC-1 unit, It's only 199 shipped. This is what i have, hookup is the same but you need a laptop or another device to read the signal. It will come with logworks so you can read in a/f or lambda. Anolog 1 is your narrow and 2 is your wideband, or you can adjust them to what ever specs you need for it to work.
     
  7. kyleirwin

    kyleirwin Retired OG

    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    Vegas
    the ecu will read the wideband signal and record it (datalog) if you have it set up correctly. then you look at your datalogs and adjust your fuel maps manually to achieve your desired a/f ratio. depending on your datalogging software, you can view the o2 sensor signal in volts, lambda or a/f ratio. as for how to datalog in turboedit, visit the turboedit forum at http://www.pgmfi.org/ it would also help you to look around the library and newb section over there.

    as smooth criminal said, the LC-1 is a good alternative if you are going to be datalogging with your ecu anyways and do not need the display or built in datalogging. there are cars that come with a wideband 02 sensor, but you need a wideband controller to be able to interpret the signal from them. so you basically need to buy a whole kit from somewhere. right now, the innovative lc-1 is the least expensive that i know of at $200 retail.
     
  8. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
     
  9. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    im just not impressed with the lm-1. maybe its just preference, but i like having a display. and you really cant mount the lm-1 in a fashion to use it as a display, not nicely at least. mainly cause of how its setup, like a graphing calculator. and isnt the guage for a display like 200 bucks? rediculous IMO. i ilke the PLX-m300 much better since its easy to position as a display and has both wideband and narrowband outputs for tunning and shit, just like the LM-1. just my .02
     
  10. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    I mounted mine in a 50 cent extra large cup holder hung off the glove box. Works awesome, I can easily read the bar going from rich to lean, day or night at a quick glance without moving my head. Much better IMO than mounting a guage. Plus I don't need a guage once my maps are tuned, and I plan on putting the wideband away except for tuning. No need for a permanent guage at all. And like I said, the LM-1 can be had rather inexpensively if you know where to look, so that is why I bought it. Theything I like about the LM-1 display is the fact that it displays lamda, afr and a bar that shows rich or lean, all on the same display, so I can take all that in at one glace. It really is nice, but everyone has a preference. And luckily there are a few good products to choose from. I haven't heard any compliants from the plx products. I like the fact that you can get a replacement sensor for the LM-1 for like $45. I also Don't worry about the guage thing too much, because I usually am sitting in the passenger seat doing the tuning while my buddy is driving, and I can see the afrs on my datalogging software as it shows up on the maptrace.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page