1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wiring a b18b into 97 hatch

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by younglord94, Jun 26, 2005.

  1. younglord94

    younglord94 Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    I'm putting a 95 ls motor into my 97 hatch dx. I know I need the OBD 2 to Obd 1 harness. I heard i can just put my stock dx harness on the ls motor and all i need to do is extend some wires, but i'm not to sure. Can someone help me out. Is there anything else i need to do. thanks.
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    you HAVE to use your stock motor harness. its the only way.

    with the ls swap, theres no vtec etc, so you won't have to add/change much of anything, just swap the plug ends that don't plug in. a couple might not reach, so they will need to be lengthened.

    if you don't want to run a jumper, just get an obd2a p75 ls ecu.
     
  3. smooth_criminal

    smooth_criminal Senior Member

    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    If you need an ECU i have an extra $30 that i used on my 96 lx swapped with a 99 ls. You need to change the IACV plug and the CFK plug. You will need to extend both or your o2's other then that it's plug and play. let me know if you need any other help
     
  4. cvic-si

    cvic-si Junior Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005



    hey man if that is an obd2b ecu and he doesnt need it then i really do need it!!! thanks


    brett

    p.s. - i have 30 bucks for it right now!!
     
  5. younglord94

    younglord94 Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    I have a obd2 harness out of a 99 ls that i'm going to put on the 95 ls motor. Someone told me in another forum that obd2 harness will plug right into my car. the only plug i would have to change is the distributor.
     
  6. civiclxb16

    civiclxb16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Poconos pa
    if you use an obd 1 engine with an obd2 ecu you will get errors codes. some of the sensors on the obd2 ecu is not on the obd1 engine you would have to add them aka pain in the ass, if you don't have emmissons where you live just use an obd1 ecu. also isn't the 99 ls ecu obd2b? if so it will not work for you since your civic is obd2a!
     
  7. ilubmyEG

    ilubmyEG New Member

    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Location:
    Utahrded, united states
    I was wondering if someone could clarify that obd2a with the 99s and obd2b with the 96's. I have a ecu from a 99 ls that is the exact same as my p2p and p72 which are both obd2, so i thought the obd2b was a different pinout? After looking at it i will be able to use the p75 on my 97 civic hatch it will fit. im putting the 99 ls into this weekend. and can also figure it out then if it does or doesnt.

    My bad if its a thread jack or not.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page