1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

wiring questions for 98ex vtec swap

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by b18civics, Feb 4, 2005.

  1. b18civics

    b18civics Junior Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Hello everyone!...

    Here is the issue that im working with...

    I have a 98 ex and I already put a b18b1 in the car. So the wiring and all that has been done for the b18b1... I had a REALLY SHITY tuner and to make a long story short the b18 is now out of the car :( . Now I decided that I want to go with a frankenstien motor, have to upgrade to vtec :D . Now in order to do this I know there is special wiring that needs to be done for the vtec, does anyone have a rundown on switching it over to vtec after the b18b1 wiring was already done. Please let me know, and it would help if you had like to an article or something or what I have to do with what wires to make the motor function correctly. Thankyou all VERY much for your help in advance .
     
  2. qtmac_mien

    qtmac_mien Senior Member

    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    im not sure what special wiring you talkin about but most people would just run the vtec, knock sensor, etc.. straight to the ecu..
     
  3. Punisher

    Punisher Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005


    Just wondering, is the knock sensor plug same as the temperature sender plug?
     
  4. qtmac_mien

    qtmac_mien Senior Member

    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    what do you mean by same plug?? like as in can you plug a knock sensor in the place of a tem sensor?? if so NO you cant.. if your asking about the female plug that plugs into the sensors, then ya i think you can use a knock sensor female plug in the place of a temp.
     
  5. projectxspeed

    projectxspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Hell if you use a p28 you don't even need a knock sensor. That cuts it down to 2 wires to run. Here is something to help you get your read on.

    LS/vtec
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page