ZC questions

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

daemonkron

Im new to the Honda world, and I love the 91 CRX Si, and one of my friends told me about the ZC motor. Until that point I had never heard of it, I also know that aftermarket products for the engine are scarce. If i were to get a ZC motor put into a CRX, what limitations would I have as to what I could do? Does anyone produce aftermarket internals for it? How does it compare to a b18c1? Thank you for your time.

the DOHC ZC is a very good swap in the 2nd gen CRX - bolts right in - not very expensive - aftermarket parts not being available is a myth - you can get anything you need for the ZC, except an aftermarket intake manifold (which you wouldn't need anyway) - the ZC is 130hp, the B18C1 is 180hp - the B18C swap will run approximately 3 to 3 1/2 times as much money as a ZC swap - a B16A (160hp) swap will run about 2 to 2 1/2 times as much money as a ZC swap

My crx was a `91 dx dpfi with an automatic, I just did a zc swap and converted it to stick. I am very impressed with its speed, although I have not driven many fast cars this one is fast enough to get me into trouble already. The swap I did with the auto to man conversion cost me roughly $1,300. The zc is an easy swap, little wiring needs to be done, especially if you already have an si or a hf model (dx has the most but still very little). You will need the motor, compatible tranny, ecu and wiring if your model is a dx. While the engine is out it is recommended to replace most parts that commonly go, ie water pump, plugs, wires, cap, rotor, front/rear main seal, belts and hoses. There are many writeups on this swap, both on hs and on the net. Like anything else read up on everything first to see what your up against before starting.
Dmoore is a good site to get you started, thezcr.com search around there are more.