1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ZC swap into eg question

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by 92CHB, Oct 2, 2005.

  1. 92CHB

    92CHB Senior Member

    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Easthampton, MA
    Okay so my d15b7 is puffin black smoke so i am thinking its time for a new motor. I am thinking the 92-95 ZC and i know that this is not reccomended but i have all ready have a budget turbo setup on my d15b7 and that would make it pretty much make it interchangable. Oh and i am gonna be ordering the motor from nippon motors if I purchase the ZC. Now my questions are:

    Will the ZC run well on my stock P06 for the time being before i bolt up my turbo setup on it?

    For a transmission just to clarify, the ZC only bolts up to an ex/si tranny?

    If you had the choice would you rather a d15b or the ZC? I ask this because my friend has a d15b for sale at a comprable price to the ZC.

    Thanks!
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    if it were me, i'd look in junkyards for a z6. the power is comparable to a jdm sohc zc and jdm d15b, and parts are a dime a dozen, and you can probably get the whole thing for 300 bucks. it will be a much easier swap.

    i wouldn't run a zc on a po6... if anything, an ls p75 would be better, but still not ideal.

    all hydro d-series trannys are interchagable so long as you have the right clutch and axle set.
     
  3. 92CHB

    92CHB Senior Member

    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Easthampton, MA
    okay thanks, i forgot to mention i was gonna get the DOHC nonvtec ZC if that makes a difference. So if i used an DX tranny on it what clutch and axels should i use,; and the same for if i used a ex/si tranny ?
     
  4. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    the OBD1 DOHC ZC will bolt right into your car using your transmission, axles, clutch, etc. - you won't need to change anything - be better to get the EX transmission, but you don't have to - you will need to do a little exhaust work, unless you want to use your exhaust manifold on the ZC
     
  5. 92CHB

    92CHB Senior Member

    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Easthampton, MA
    Does the ZC not have a good exhaust manifold? or is it that since it's a dohc there will be a space between the cat and manifold?
     
  6. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    the ZC has a 4-2-1 manifold - pretty good design - you need to adapt a EX downpipe which bolts right to the ZC manifold
     
  7. 92CHB

    92CHB Senior Member

    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Easthampton, MA
    Well i finally got my compression tester in the mail. I tested the ole d15b7 and got 125,125,130,130. So she's pretty much dead. I am gonan get the ZC and my question is will the ZC run off a chipped P06(after the winter)?? As for replacement parts(stuff like a water pump, timing belt, and such) i can use any parts that would be for a d16a8/9, correct? Also is there any type of wiring i have to do since its a dohc and my old d15b7 is sohc? Thanks!
     
  8. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    chipped P06 would run it o.k. - replacement parts are basically same as the OBD0 DOHC ZC, except the distributor which is unique to the OBD1 ZC - generally speaking, all parts below the top of the block are same as D16A6 Si - all parts above top of block are same as D16A1 Integra - the timing belt is the same as 88 Prelude 2.0 Si
     
  9. 92CHB

    92CHB Senior Member

    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Easthampton, MA
    When you say a chipped P06 will run okay why wouldn't it run normal if i have the p29 binary file?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page