easy question on wiring harness (87 CRX-Si)

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

trailmeister

On my 87 CRX-Si I'm replacing the 91hp stock engine with a ZC, a D16A1 from an 87 Integra (113hp).

I've been reading through hondaswap.com for pointers.

pissedoffsol says, "Swaping the 1st gen ZC: Remember, the OEM wiring harnesses should be used with its own engine to make the swap easier and cleaner." This tells me I should use the wiring harness from an Integra.

In another post, pissedoffsol says, "ACTUAL SWAP INFO: Use the 1st Gen CRX Si's wiring harness. Plugs right into the 87 Integra sensors, injectors, & distributor." This tells me I should use the wiring harness from my CRX.

I'm not a mechanic and I don't tinker with my car on the weekends. :mellow: Today I learned what ECU stands for.

My professional mechanic who will perform the swap, is an all-business, get-it-done kind of guy who doesn't want to deal with the headaches of petty bull$#!+ like a wiring harness that doesn't work or doesn't hook up properly, etc. He also doesn't want to spend hours doing research on the web or posting questions. I can understand that, he's trying to make a living.

Is there anyone out there who has done this swap and can tell me definitively, one way or the other, which wiring harness to use?

Thanks!!

trailmeister
Mill Valley, Calif

we have done this swap a couple of times - use the CRX wiring harness

BTW - the D16A1 is not a ZC - similar, but not the same

Last edited:
Thanks jlicrx for your reply, much appreciated.

It looks like you're the man we're looking for. Ok to tap your brain? :sp_ike:
-- about engine mounts.

In the archives, pissedoffsol says, "To bolt the 1st gen ZC engine into a 1st Gen CRX, the following mounts will be needed. First, the passenger side mount and rear mount from the ZC/Integra should be used while the driver’s side mount and bracket need to be used from the Civic/CRX."