James' Game Reviews, 360 style

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

jamesA

Thank you for your business.
VIP
I know I'm not a professional gamer, and I'm not good at a lot of games. But here is where I'll give the good and bad of the games I've played. I may or may not go along with the real reviews by people who do this for a living, but I will go by my level of enjoyment while playing the games.

Call of Duty 4

Solo Play
As I'm better at 1st Person shooters, I took to this game quickly. I bought it on Turkey day of 07, along with my xbox. (bought the xbox for this game)

The story is very linear and follows a direct pattern. I enjoy the climactic build up to the last mission.

What I enjoy most about this game is the fact that each button is assigned to one task. RT to fire, RB for frags, Y to switch guns. Unlike other games where you're trying to manipulate 2 buttons to switch to your pistol.

Game play is pretty exciting on the middle difficulty setting (recruit), and as you'd expect increases when you get to hardened or veteran. When I bought the game I stayed up all night until I had beaten it on Recruit.

Online Play
Coming into it, it plays a lot like the solo missions. You start off with certain guns, and as you level up from 1 to 55, you unlock more guns. Getting kills gives you attachments which are fun and exciting until you get used to them, then you start to wish you could have the acog and grenade launcher on your gun at the same time.

I've played this a lot online (60 days + between two gamertags), and I can tell you the play itself doesn't get boring - unless you're playing against a clan who's only goal is to win.