1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

88 crx, b18c1 swap

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by mad_hatter, Oct 14, 2006.

  1. mad_hatter

    mad_hatter Its Da Mad Hatter

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    fredericksburg, falmouth area
    88 crx hf which is obd0, i am gonna drop a b18c in it which i guess is obd1, but i have a obd2 ecu is that a problem, please dont tell me to search, i have everything is from obd0 to 1 or 2, nothing about using 1 of each please help, and after all my research im sure this is right,
    93 teg axles,
    gonna have to alter linkage,
    mounts (waiting on reply to order)
    gonna have to wire the dizzy connector over,
    and ecu conversion(can i hard wire this over i cant find a diagram for it),
    im also in need or header and downpipe(stock or not dont care)
     
  2. hosmer

    hosmer I made the millionth post VIP

    Messages:
    3,162
    Likes Received:
    82
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    B R I D G E W A T E R
    A B18C1 can be either obd1 or 2....find out which one you have 1st.

    then you can go the easy route (if you have some spare $$) and just buy a couple jumper harness'

    they make a Vtec harness for your HF and you'll need the OBD (from obd0 to obd1 or 2) jumper as well. Hasport and Rywire make them both.
     
  3. mad_hatter

    mad_hatter Its Da Mad Hatter

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    fredericksburg, falmouth area
    ok

    i know they make b18 both obd 1 and two what i mean is the motor is 1 and the ecu is two, now is that a problem i know all about the jumper harness and that just will the two work together
     
  4. hosmer

    hosmer I made the millionth post VIP

    Messages:
    3,162
    Likes Received:
    82
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    B R I D G E W A T E R
    it *can* work, but not with a jumper

    you've either got to re-wire the pinouts yourself or grab an obd1 ECU
     
  5. mad_hatter

    mad_hatter Its Da Mad Hatter

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    fredericksburg, falmouth area
    ok

    thats what i thought i was just making sure because i couldnt find anything out about that anywhere else, what is the difference between the two obd1 and 2, just o2 sensors and emissions pretty much right so pretty much im probly gonna be guarenteed a check engine light, i might just see if i can get the jumper wire, and trade for a obd1 now that jumper eliminates me having to chang any wires at the ecu right ill just have to wire the vtec and pressure switch. . . . . . .
     
  6. hosmer

    hosmer I made the millionth post VIP

    Messages:
    3,162
    Likes Received:
    82
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    B R I D G E W A T E R
    obd1 and 2 are very different, heres the pinouts on the ECU's:
    http://hondaswap.com/reference-materials/ecu-pinouts-28667/

    the easiest thing to do would be sell the obd2 ECU, and buy an obd1 ECU and obd0 to obd1 jumper harness...then you just have to run the Vtec wires and secondaries (or you can buy a plug n play harness for that as well)
     
  7. mad_hatter

    mad_hatter Its Da Mad Hatter

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    fredericksburg, falmouth area
    ok

    thats what i assumed just trying to get someone else to agree just to make sure, ok now another think i keep finding stuff about having to change the injectors out i dont know what thats all about i got gsr and the dizzy is obviously from junk yard it has b16a1 on it but i dont know what else they did it used to be in a 91 hatch i believe so i have there wire harness to i havnt looked at the main connectors but i think they might be different so...
     
  8. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    engine wiring harnesses are not interchangeable - you need to use your HF engine wiring harness and make the necessary wiring changes to it - the 91 hatch engine harness is not compatible with the HF chassis harness - you need the P72 OBD1 ECU and distributor - use the injectors that are already on the engine - if they are OBD1 (gray connectors) injectors you just need to swap the injector clips from the harness that comes with the engine onto your HF harness and remove the injector resistor box from the circuit - if they are OBD0 (white connectors) injectors, then just use your HF injector resistor box and the HF injector connectors that are already on your HF harness - you will need the OBD0 to OBD1 ECU jumper harness - you will need to rewire the distributor connector or get a distributor jumper - you will need to extend the wiring and swap out the connector for the cooling fan switch - the OBD1 engine has the MAP sensor on top of the throttle body - you will need to extend the wires for the HF MAP connector (your MAP is in the control box on the firewall) so that it will reach the MAP on the throttle body - if you get the right ECU jumper from someone like Rywire, it will have the VTEC, etc. wires already wired up - Rywire - Online Store
     
  9. mad_hatter

    mad_hatter Its Da Mad Hatter

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    fredericksburg, falmouth area
    thanks

    thanks you have defently given a great amount of knowlegde ok well im waiting on harness and stuff but if i run into some probs i ask you if you dont mind thanks
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page