1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

91 integra hatch b17 gsr swap

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by rice burner, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. rice burner

    rice burner New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    hi i have a 91 integra hatch and just bought a b17a1 gsr rebuilt engine to swap in in place of the b18a.i have a chipped p4 ecu and was wondering if this could run the new gsr or would i need an obd0 to obd1 rywire and a p28 ecu?have read about some possable distributor problems and possable injector,fuel rail changes.i am new to the honda seen and am trying to learn fast.any sugestions on what is going to have to be done to complete this swap would be much apreciated.[i have tried to google this swap but the motor is rare so not much luck]thanks
     
  2. EF9_boy

    EF9_boy New Member

    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Location:
    TX
    not sure about the fuel rail but yes you need a jumper harness and a computer that would read vtec such as the p28
     
  3. rice burner

    rice burner New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    thanks. that is a start.anything else that i would need to do or get?
     
  4. isthisnameok4u

    isthisnameok4u New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    I just did the b17 swap

    I had a thread on here a few months back on my swap. First off good luck, it was a stuggle. OBD1 on the b17 is different than all other OBD1 harness out there. The fuel injectors are also saturated (no fuel injector resistor box). My sugestion would be to get ahold of an OBD0 b16 harness and OBD0 b16 ecu. you may have to get the dizzy and fuel injectors for the b16 but it is the onlt option, unless you can find a b17 harness and you wont find that. I will be checking in more often if you have questions let me know I'll get it runnin for sure! :)
     
  5. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,107
    Likes Received:
    195
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
  6. isthisnameok4u

    isthisnameok4u New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    notice the jumble of wires along the firewall. I had to make my own sub-harness to adapt the b17 engine harness to my 93 underdash harness. Even though they were both obd1 to start with nothing lined up. I DO NOT recomend this! I have done several swaps and this is my fouth DA build so I know them inside and out. I'm very experienced in electronics and this took almost a year. Do a b16 build with the b17 block or you will be sorry.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 45.jpg
      45.jpg
      File size:
      514.6 KB
      Views:
      3,211
    • 46.jpg
      46.jpg
      File size:
      574.4 KB
      Views:
      5,455
  7. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,107
    Likes Received:
    195
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    ha i honestly dnt know on this one, good looking swap though bro good luck ;p
     
  8. rice burner

    rice burner New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    hi. thanks for the advice.i have an old b18a that i was going to take the injectors and fuel rail off of.i was going to use my wirring harnes thats in the car now.i also have my original b18a dizzy because of the plug.isthisnameok4u you say that youve done this before and nothing lined up.the few posts that i read said that my harnes would work no problem except for the plug on the dizzy and the wire for the vtech.i can see how a b16 head would a easier but could i use the b17 gsr cams in it and why would this head work better with my 91s harness?anyway thanks again for the help.i will try to get some pics up here if i can but i am not too computer savy.happy holidays to all.
     
  9. isthisnameok4u

    isthisnameok4u New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    I meant as far as the electronics it would be a b16 swap. Yes you can keep your b18 engine harness and add the vtec and knock sensor wires. The pr4 ecu doesn't have vtec unless it was programed into the chip. I would rather have a vtec ecu over a chipped ecu. That's why I said to go with an OBD0 b16 ecu and engine harness. Not sure the b18 dizzy would work with vtec ecu though.
    The easy route would be getting a b16 engine harness, ecu, and dizzy.
    The hard route would be rigging up your non vtec harness and ecu to a vtec engine.
     
  10. rice burner

    rice burner New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    thanks that makes sense.i will try to find the b16 obd0 ecu,harnes and dizzy at a junkyard around nova scotia.
     
  11. 91integrada

    91integrada New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    B17a1 gsr swap

    I just going to do my swap in to my 91 DA all has b18a OBD0 harness its possible to do the swap just won't read vtech unless you have to the money to get the ecu and wire vtech
     
  12. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,107
    Likes Received:
    195
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    this threads been dead for years dude
     
  13. 91integrada

    91integrada New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Yah I know it has been dead just wanted to give advice incase someone wanted to do the swap and doesn't have much money to spend on the harness and stuff I'm limited to my money because I got a a kid on the way so I wanted to show advice that's all
     
  14. Astar11

    Astar11 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    1990 civic b18a swap

    I have a 1990 civic hatch and swapping the motor with a 1992 b18a1 could i use the same wiring harness with a Tegra ecu or would i need the wiring harness from the integra?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page