1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

93 accord engine swap issues- from F22A6 to F22B2

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> BA-BB /CA-CD' started by jeepcreepcj, Sep 4, 2009.

  1. jeepcreepcj

    jeepcreepcj New Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Hi, I am in the process of replacing the f22a6 engine in my 93 accord with a f22b2 from a 94 accord. The trouble I have encountered is that the ports on the head are different. I can use the b2s exhaust manifold to solve that side, but the intake manifold is a different story. I need to have the wiring harness from my f22a6 93 motor, but there is no way that I can put the manifold from my car onto the new engine, even if I modified the ports to match, the coolant hole from the head to the manifold would not align. Also, from what I have read, the head from an a motor wont fit the b because the b head is wider and one of the water jackets overhangs the block. So, is there any way I can use the manifold from the 94 in the 93? Or is there any other way to make this work? Thanks!
     
  2. jeepcreepcj

    jeepcreepcj New Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Anyone?

    I guess I am going to try and use the 94 manifold that fits the b2, and put my wiring harness from the 93 manifold on it. The wiring is kinda different, and the fuel line hooks up on the other side of the rail. Also none or few of the vacuum lines are going to match up.
     
  3. jeepcreepcj

    jeepcreepcj New Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Well, I got it running today, Still have not done and have not worked out things like vacuum lines, power steering hose, exhaust ect. I started it for about 5 seconds so it is getting fuel the injectors are working and has spark. I need to get a new thermostat housing and a few other misc things to be able to see how well it is going to run with the mismatched manifold. If anyone is actually seeing this and reading it, is there a reason I couldn't get any replies or help? Thanks.
     
  4. jeepcreepcj

    jeepcreepcj New Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Still no help... feel like I am talking to myself here.

    Car ran poorly after finishing install, changed plugs and it runs much better, but still is not right. When on the throttle/under acceleration it runs good, but if maintaining a speed it seems to miss/jump around a bit, and it idles rough and low. by removing a few vacuum lines and basically allowing it to get more air the idle will pick up and smooth out. How can I correct this, does this car have an idle control valve like I read for h motors? It seems like it is just not getting enough air. Thanks for any help.
     
  5. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    you shouldnt have to do anything to the new motor but drop it in and wire it up
     
  6. jeepcreepcj

    jeepcreepcj New Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Thats what I understood from what I read before getting the engine, but when I started swapping them, the cylinder head is different between the two, so I had to use the exhaust and intake manifolds that came on the f22b2. I put my harness from the a6 onto the b2 manifold and it mostly plugged in. After i got it running it ran terribly, sounded worse than the old motor which had no compression in cyl 1. Guess the plugs were bad because new plugs made it run decent except for at idle and it is funny when you are driving w/out a load. It idles so low that it shakes and is rough, but creating a vacuum leak makes it idle faster and better.
    Thanks for replying btw, I have not had much luck getting anyones input.
     
  7. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    you dont need to swap intake manifolds, just use your stock wiring harness. and use the new motor complete/dont swap the intake manifold with the old motor. when you do that whats the problem/whats left
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. jeepcreepcj

    jeepcreepcj New Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    low / poor idle and missing/jumpy when running without load. I will look into it some more in the evening and post up what I get. I have a different o2 sensor to try, and I am unsure if the map sensor is working properly.
     
  9. jeepcreepcj

    jeepcreepcj New Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Checked some things today, and got it figured out. Because the manifolds are different, I had to lengthen and relocate some vacuum lines, the way that I had the lines to the control box/map sensor must have not allowed it to get an accurate reading.

    So the initial issue was fouled plugs, and then the poor idle and surging was due to the map sensor.
     
  10. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    cool glad you got it figured out
     
  11. D15Beater

    D15Beater HNFTuning

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Concord N.C.
    No this is wrong, they can be swapped. F22a1,A4,A6,b1,b2,F23 heads all can be mismatched. The H22 has to have work to work.

    F22aX/H23 intake manifold same gasket/pattern
    F22b1/2 same gasket/pattern
    H22a on its own

    Simply put you if your F221 came from a 94-95 accord and came with a harness you could have used that harness and everything plug up. You would then need to run the missing vtec wires from the shock tower through the firewall to the ECU.
     
  12. jeepcreepcj

    jeepcreepcj New Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    My f22b2 is non vtec. I thought that the head could not be swapped with the f22a6 because there is a coolant passage that extends out of the block on the f22b2 where the a6 is flat on that spot. I must have been wrong, It would have been easier if I had known that before I swapped motors, I could have swapped the head and had everything work like the intake manifold and power steering pump mount.
     
  13. jgrijalva1

    jgrijalva1 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Sorry for old post but I actually just bought a car who has ths particular set up and , the person did not finish the set with the vaccum lines and such , Jeepcreepcj , do you still have this vehicle ??
     
  14. jeepcreepcj

    jeepcreepcj New Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Ya i still have it, I drive it everyday!
     
  15. FLACOFOOL80

    FLACOFOOL80 Banned

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    save ur time and money and get an h22 that bolts rite up. from tigerjapanese.com
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page