1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

93 B18A1 into 95 hatch

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by 95lshatch, Mar 9, 2007.

  1. 95lshatch

    95lshatch Skyline killer!!!!

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Location:
    K-Town, Germany
    This is my first thread on here so plz bare with me....I have a 95 EG dx with a 93 B18a1 in it and when I got it the wires were jacked up but it ran...pretty strong....It has the cable to hydro conversion with a YS1 in it...well were a sensor or something for cable ????IDK but it is open and I was driven on the autobahn and out of nowhere it went dead..0 RPMs......then it picked back up (all electric was working) it continues to do this I cleaned the IACV and IAT then I noticed there is no MAP anywhere.....were the hole in the tranny is (were a sensor or something was) tranny fluid leaked out on to the passenger side wiring harness but that was it....(checked main relay, fuel pump, timing) I opened the fuel line off the fuell filter and let some fuel out then it started and stayed running for a few days then same stuff as soon as I give it some medium throttle it shuts off....

    Also I ordered a 94 LS ECU.....do I have to run the knock sensor?

    And I am trying to get a 92-95 ex wiring harness....this should work so I don't have a hacked harness.....right?:confused:

    Everything is OBD1....
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2007
  2. boostin4fun

    boostin4fun Boosted ls/vtec ohh yeah!

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Omaha
    No, you should not need a knock sensor with the pr4 ecu. If the hole you see is in the rear of the transmission, it is probably where the VSS/ Vehicle Speed Sensor should be. Some people take them out because they have a mechancial speedometer, and that is where the cable would plug in. Your car should need the electronic vehicle speed sensor. I wouldnt be surprised if the driveablility problems are directly linked to this missing sensor. Also with it missing if creates a huge hole for transaxle fluid to leak out. I believe that the signal it supplys the ecu is pretty vital. You can search a local junk yard for one, I would just make sure that it is out of a b series manual just to make sure its going to fit and work. I dont think your car would run without a map sensor! It is usually located on top of the throttle body, it will have 3 wires running into it. Dont confuse it with the TPS sensor which also has 3 wires but is on the side of the throttle body.
     
  3. 95lshatch

    95lshatch Skyline killer!!!!

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Location:
    K-Town, Germany
    Thanx for the PR4 P75 info....The VSS is in place but not connected due to edward scissor hands.....lol...but it is put in the tranny with the clip and 3 wires hanging off (to keep from junk getting in there)......this hole almost is the size of a dipstick hole and towards the front of the tranny in front and under the dizzy.........and on that B18A the MAP was on the fire wall (connected to the purge solenoid(s)) in the TEG but this guy didn't take it out and put it in the civic.......and it was running fine without it there.......idk...thats why im :confused: ........
     
  4. boostin4fun

    boostin4fun Boosted ls/vtec ohh yeah!

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Omaha

    Ohh that hole. I just took a look at my ls transmission and there is like a rubber cap that goes over that. It slides off so yours probably just got lost. You can probably find one somewhere. Yeah some of the map sensors are located on the firewall on older models. But your sure that you dont have a newer style throttle body with the map on top?? I guess if you have no map at all you are definetly going to need one!! You need to take care of the map issues and the vehicle speed sensor issue. Look in a repair manual in the wiring section and it should give you the colors and everything for the wires so you can hook them back up. Or just get the other harness you were talking about. Just remember there will be a few plugs on that, that wont be used. For the vtec and knock sensor. Other then that it should work. Then locate a map sensor and get that hooked up to.
     
  5. 95lshatch

    95lshatch Skyline killer!!!!

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Location:
    K-Town, Germany
    I new about the extra plugs and if i get that harness i can hook up the VSS cause the plug will be on the new harness.......the MAP on the dx is on the TB and the LS on the firewall...thats why there is not one...but yea it i already alldata'd that one and looked in bothe places can i use any 94 integra TB with MAP (ie GSR type r).......i knew there was something up with the MAP cause it runs RICH...real RICH......just to double check.........get EX harness any OBD1 TEG TB and MAP and with the P75 it should run like a champ right?:mellow:
     
  6. boostin4fun

    boostin4fun Boosted ls/vtec ohh yeah!

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Omaha
    Yep, that should take care of you.
     
  7. 95lshatch

    95lshatch Skyline killer!!!!

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Location:
    K-Town, Germany
    Alright thanks for the info.........
     
  8. 95lshatch

    95lshatch Skyline killer!!!!

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Location:
    K-Town, Germany
    Just FYI for anyone that reads this.........first of all the car was going on and off because there was some bare wires inside the distributor..must have been grounding out ......and the only way to hook up a MAP sensor on that swap is to grab a MAP off of TEG on the TB or firewall and run the top vaccum line from the TB to the MAP and ZIP tie the MAP to wherever is sturdy and not HOT........the plug the MAP up to the harness.....sounds ghetto but you could drill holes in the firewall...the vaccuum rails on the back of the mani, one of them will be open so run a hose and put a bolt at the end to close off the vaccum line that did run to the TB..........
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page