1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A couple VTEC questions

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by flydex28, Apr 8, 2007.

  1. flydex28

    flydex28 Senior Member

    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon coast
    OK so my vtec still will not work...(It used to work intermittent when I first did the swap), the solenoid clicks when I connect it to the battery to check it...I did a continuity check between the ecu plugs and where it plugs into the solenoid...everything checks out. My questions are:

    1. Can you run a second ground from the vtec oil pressure sensor in case the first ground is not good. (I have the first ground wrapped up in the engine harness)<-- or do I have to remove the old one?

    2. Also where did you guys run the ground wire to?
    :confused: Please help!!!
     
  2. flydex28

    flydex28 Senior Member

    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon coast
    No...the oil level is good and the screen is only 8 months old but I will check it tonight anyways. I guess I will just splice a second ground into the original and ground on the thermostat housing.
     
  3. flydex28

    flydex28 Senior Member

    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon coast
    well both screens were clean and I respliced the ground wire. Now driving home from work today I get a code 41 on the CEL. Im getting sick of this crap.
     
  4. flydex28

    flydex28 Senior Member

    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon coast
    well i got home and let it sit for an hour or so and now the light doesnt come on anymore; although still no vtec...grrrr. Maybe I'm looking at this wrong... tell me, how do you know when it is working? Because I dont feel anything different and I dont hear any RPM change.


    Also...when I took the top part off the vtec solenoid there is a little brass disk with a hole in it...is this supposes to be in any particular position?
     
  5. flydex28

    flydex28 Senior Member

    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon coast
    Engine is B16SIR2, Checked owners manual dosent tell me anything. since i checked solenoid against the battery and it clicked is it possible it could still be bad? Also is there somewhere else i could be losing oil pressure for example cam seal or valve cover gasket.
     
  6. flydex28

    flydex28 Senior Member

    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon coast
    sorry I meant repair manual...I have the Chilton manual and it doesnt mention vtec hardly at all. I think I will just need to drop the oil pan and see if that or the screen in there is gunked up. I just dont understand it.

    Is there a fuse involved somewhere in there as well...I found this reading another post, "ecu, inj fuse".
    This guys fuse kept blowing and when he jumped it or replaced it vtec worked.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2007
  7. nodorizzi

    nodorizzi New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Hook up a light to it, It will come on when vtec comes on, or at least when it gets power.
     
  8. nathancrx

    nathancrx New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    ok, take off the valve cover. And make sure none of the bolts that hold the cam caps down are loose. Some of these bolts barely get into the vtec oil galley, and when they get loose they will cause low oil pressure near the vtec syleniod. Does your vtec work when the motor is cold?(thats when your oil pressure is at its highest) Dropping the pan to check your pickup is useless. If thats clogged your whole motor is toast not just your vtec..
     
  9. flydex28

    flydex28 Senior Member

    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon coast
    Hmmm...cam caps? vtec oil galley? I will have to look these up. Im not sure what these are but I'm glad it probably isnt the oil pan. Also i forgot to check continuity between the press. switch terminals...I will do this later today. And no the vtec doesnt work at all...I remember when I first put the engine in it worked for a little bit.
    Also I read something about a vtec oil galley plug and that it needs to be flush with the head...where is this located. When I get home I will see if its in the book. Probably not though.

    i found this...which part is the cam cap, oil galley, plug...etc.
    Honda Automotive Parts
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2007
  10. flydex28

    flydex28 Senior Member

    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon coast
    well I took off the valve cover and everything is tight...Im pretty sure the wires are in the correct ecu slots...I used the diagram off of here, and anyways i'm pretty sure it was working for a little while.
     
  11. P7ank5te7

    P7ank5te7 New Member

    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Location:
    Radford, VA
    Out of curiosity, I'm no expert here, but what ecu are you using? I am a nooB, yes, but from what it looks, no one has asked that yet. The reason I asked, could it be that the ecu is the wrong one or malfunctioning. I saw the idea of the Vtec being connected to a light, to tell if its coming on, which is a great idea, but wouldn't that take from the power to kick the vtec solenoid over causing it not to work right, even tho it would help diagnose weather the ecu was properly functioning? I'm sure I have alot to learn, but I thought i'd throw in my questions and .02 on this issue. -Gary
     
  12. flydex28

    flydex28 Senior Member

    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon coast
    Got the complete swap from hmotors...came with the P30 ecu.
     
  13. TheManRSW

    TheManRSW TheManRSW

    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Just because a solenoid clicks doesn't mean it's functional. Depends on the ohms of resistance inside the coil...and the amount of amperage it is receiving. Hooking up a solenoid straight to battery power doesn't mean much...I mean a battery is a minimum of 300 amps of power...much more than your typical voltage going to your vtec solenoid.
     
  14. TheManRSW

    TheManRSW TheManRSW

    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    You will hear an audible change in exhaust tone during vtec, as well as feel a boost. If you haven't noticed this before...something is not right. I don't know about other cars, but my vtec will not work properly unless my engine is warm.
     
  15. P7ank5te7

    P7ank5te7 New Member

    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Location:
    Radford, VA
    I agree with TheManRSW, you'll definately hear it kick in. I know with my d16 I can still feel it kick-in, like an extra boost of power(somewhat to the feeling of a tiny shot of nos) and hear it lightly kick-in. So if you don't feel it or even hear it, then its not properly working. I'd say to run a new wire directly from the ecu to the solenoid and new ground just to cover that temporarily. If that doesn't work then it would bound to be failing parts provided you have the proper oil pressure. Correct me if my ideas are not correct. -Gary
     
  16. flydex28

    flydex28 Senior Member

    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon coast
    I will try this. Is there a way honda can take the part and test it...is there some kind of special equipment? And thats another thing...how do you know if your not getting the correct oil pressure. Can I have it checked?
     
  17. 93vicb16a2

    93vicb16a2 WHATS CRACKIN??

    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Location:
    bfe
    is your speedometer working?
     
  18. flydex28

    flydex28 Senior Member

    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon coast
    What from Ebay?...I looked on majestic honda and it was like 200 some dollars!
     
  19. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    look around Honda-tech, or even here.. i've seen some for sale
     
  20. TheManRSW

    TheManRSW TheManRSW

    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page