1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

another harness question

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by sevenhillsbilly, Sep 20, 2008.

  1. sevenhillsbilly

    sevenhillsbilly New Member

    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    i was wondering seeing as i bought an ecu jumper haness for obd0 to obd1 would i need this too or can i do with out

    Rywire - Online Store
     
  2. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    If you just got the jumper harness and your going from a non-vtec chassis to a vtec motor then it seems to me that you will need that kit.
     
  3. 91whitehatch

    91whitehatch New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    indiana
    i didnt buy the vtech harness for mine.... i got the plugs for the vtech solenoid and the vtech oil pressure switch...ran my own wires from the plugs through the firewall and down by the ecu...then just found out which wires on the jumper harness controlled them and hooked them up.... the harness from obd-0 to obd-1 has wires to hook up the vtech and the 4 wire oxygen sensor with a few other things.
     
  4. red91efhatch

    red91efhatch New Member

    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    either way it can be done, using the stuff from rywire is more expensive but it makes the swap faster, easier and much cleaner. IMO
     
  5. sevenhillsbilly

    sevenhillsbilly New Member

    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    well seeing as it can be done with out it i mite do that but he only thing is that it has a plug for the knock sensor but does the hf engine harness im going to be using with the conversion have a knock senso in the harness or no? if i get the rywire harness could i use either plug or would it matter?
     
  6. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    none of the ef chassis' have knock sensors, besides maybe the jdm one with the obd0 b16 in it. So no your hf harness does not have a knock sensor, and the rywire harness gives you all the connectors that you need.

    If you are going obd1 then its most definately work gettin the rywire harness. It takes all of your obd0 ecu plugs and converts them to the obd1 plugs. A hell of a lot easier and cleaner then swapping each wire individually on your own. Plus you know it works when you purchase from rywire as opposed to attempting it yourself. Then it will also have the knock sensor, vtec switch, vtec oil pressure sensor, and 4-wire o2 sensor prewired, so you wont even have to splice them in.
     
  7. sevenhillsbilly

    sevenhillsbilly New Member

    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    ok i was more or less going to get it and you just splice the harness into the jumper harness am i right?
     
  8. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    i'm not sure what you mean. the subharness with all those extra sensor connections you need is prewired/spliced into the jumper harness. you just run those in to your engine bay and connect them up to the respective sensors. you dont have to deloom your stock harness and try and add these sensors. it'd be a pain, not to mention i dont think there is enough wire to run the entire length of the harness that you'd need to
     
  9. sevenhillsbilly

    sevenhillsbilly New Member

    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    i meant the obdo jumper haness to hte vtec sub harness from rywire not running new wires
     
  10. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    well the whole point of the conversion harness is so you dont have to splice much of anything. you said you already bought a obd0 to obd1 jumper but which one. Im not sure which one you did order but this is the one you want. Rywire - Online Store
    It has all the extra connections you need, which are attached to the sub harness. and the sub harness is prewired into the obd0-obd1 jumper. If you bought a obd0-obd1 jumper but it doesnt have any connectors prewired into it, then you'll have to get all those and figure out which wires in the jumper they tie into.
     
  11. sevenhillsbilly

    sevenhillsbilly New Member

    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    no i bought the one with the wires already in it off of ebay it was like $25 cheaper and it has all the directions and a lifetime warranty but my i guess if wanna save some money i can to pull apart and hack the shit out of the harness and get the connectors we need
     
  12. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    wait, so you bought somethin like this? eBay Motors: SVE OBD0 - OBD1 Conversion Harness OBD 0 to OBD 1 (item 330259584060 end time Oct-04-08 20:57:26 PDT)

    Those dont have the connections that you need, which is one reason why its a PITA. now you have to source those and also connect them yourself, and not eff up the wiring. Not to mention you don't get the 2 obd0 to obd1 dizzy adapter harnesses
     
  13. sevenhillsbilly

    sevenhillsbilly New Member

    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    yeah i know i have to get the dizzy adapter but i got a diff one and it has all the diagrams that tells me where to put the wires at but i am goin to get teh subharness from rywire and the dizzy adapter from them too i just tryed to save me some money by gettin the same thing but a diff brand
     
  14. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    gotya. well for me anyway i'd rather get it all at once and as a package deal, rather then save a couple bucks and have to get stuff from a bunch of different places, and do more work as far as wirings concerned. but i mean so long as you end up with everything you need and a running engine at the end of the day, then it's all good lol.

    Actually i just remembered, you can't purchase the dizzy adapter from rywire anymore. you can only purchase them as a part of a package deal with the jumper harness/subharness for various engine setups. you can get one from ebay or wherever though
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page