1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

b16 into 89 DX

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by civicious, Jul 18, 2004.

  1. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    OK, dropped a b16a into my 89 DX hatch...


    Wired everything up according to the Hasport/SCC article. Tested all the wires at the plugs and at the ECU with a multimeter. Everything’s wired up right.

    Instead of using a resistor box, I wired all of the constant + injector wires to the main injector power wire (yel/blk on driver's strut tower).

    The car turns over, but will not start. Fuel pump is brand new, and it is getting fuel. When I turn the key over, the main relay buzzes for about 3 seconds.

    Any ideas?



    edit: And don't give me three pages of 'sell it and get a tricycle' or 'leave it the fuck alone'. I'm asking for help, fucking help me already.
     
  2. YouKnowWhoIBee

    YouKnowWhoIBee my avatar is better.

    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    I had the same problem and my timing was off and also check your engine coolant temperature sensor. It causes the engine not to start because it doesnt sense the right operating temperature. Just a few suggestions. I know when i was searching for my problems i found like 15 threads on the same problem...check'em out.
     
  3. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  4. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Wire the injector resistor in.
     
  5. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    wired resistor box in...nothing.


    throws code 4 for CKP...

    switched the CKP wires, nothing changed.


    im thinkin about buying an si harnes and plugging it in without vtec or anything, and un-doing the ecu wiring i did, and seein if it cranks. i swear an si harness will plug in...ALL the wires are there at the ecu... 4 injectors, CKP.... theres a wrecked 91 si in the scrapyard
     
  6. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    ...that i can snag a harness from for pretty cheap...




    the other option is to tow it 4 hours to intercrew and pay $350 and get it running guaranteed...but what's the fun in that
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page