1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16a rev issues.

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by Jared759, Jul 15, 2012.

  1. Jared759

    Jared759 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    SC
    Swapped a b16a into my 92 hatch about 2-3 months ago, the car already had a hacked up harness in it, so I bought a z6 harness a few days ago and swapped it in. Now the car won't rev past 6800 rpm. I've tried my p30 and my chipped p28 and I have the same problem with both. I have a CEL, its code 1 for an O2 sensor that is plugged up and was working fine before I swapped harnesses. I've looked over wire colors and made sure all plugs are in the right place. I'm racking my brain on this one. I need some input.
     
  2. Jared759

    Jared759 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    SC
    Just fixed my check engine light. Still having the same problem.
     
  3. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Hard to say. How did the swap drive before the harness switch?

    Hacked up harness.....did ALL D16Z6 plugs fit onto the longblock? I'm wondering what OBD sensors were on the motor.

    6800 limit is kinda high for a limp mode.....weird.

    Have you driven it After you've made the CEL go away? (wondering if you can get another code from putting a load on the motor)
     
  4. Jared759

    Jared759 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    SC
    The car drove fine, it had a little idle surge once in a blue moon. The motor is good I purchased it from hmotorsonline not to long ago.
    I just finished driving it around, no CEL, not even under load. All the plugs are in the right place according to the diagram I used. Vtec is engaging with both ecus and it pulls pretty good. Its not really like its hitting the rev limiter its like its hitting a fuel cut. I'm going to do a tune up on the motor soon and see if that helps anything.
     
  5. Jared759

    Jared759 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    SC
    Anyone know if the d16z6 only had the intake air temperature sensor on the intake manifold itself or on the manifold and the intake tube?
     
  6. monotech

    monotech Member

    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    D16Z6 has it on the intake manifold only.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page