1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16a rev-limiter kicking in at 7-7500 rpm?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by wagovanb16man, Sep 11, 2007.

  1. wagovanb16man

    wagovanb16man i

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    So I got the wagon together enough to drive, minus the exhaust and the map sensor.. But anyways, I ran it pretty good but it would die if you let the RPMs get under 2000 but I think that is because the MAP sensor is unplugged..

    But when you would run it it ran good but the rev limiter would kick in at around 7000-7500... Do ya'll what could be causing this? Could I have some wires backwards or something?

    The only thing I could think of is either that Map sensor, or the two wires that plug in under the intake manifold on the head.. I think one is yellow and one is black.. Which one goes where?

    I'm sorry I've been making a lot of wierd/random posts but I just want this car done and running good!!

    Thanks for all your help guys!
     
  2. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    It's your MAP sensor. Fix all the bugs first then we can go from there.
     
  3. wagovanb16man

    wagovanb16man i

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ok, thats what I was thinking.

    Now, with the Skunk2 Intake manifold, it looks like the map sensor where it connects to the throttle body is blocked off. I guess I will still try to connect it and see what happens.

    BTW, it seems like there is a whining sound coming from either the tranny or the motor when in high RPMs, could this be VTEC engaged?
     
  4. get_nick

    get_nick These snozzberries taste like snozzberries... VIP

    Messages:
    11,939
    Likes Received:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State
    what rpm is it at? does it stop whining if you coast at high rpm?
     
  5. wagovanb16man

    wagovanb16man i

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Around 4500-up. Its really only if I rag on it hard.. I'm pretty sure it does it when I let out of the gas too.

    Also, how much oil does the tranny take? I put 2 quarts in mine because thats what I read, but it didn't seem full.
     
  6. get_nick

    get_nick These snozzberries taste like snozzberries... VIP

    Messages:
    11,939
    Likes Received:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State
    well, you should feel a slight change in acceleration during vtec. if you have i/h/e you will hear it. it will only happen at wide open throttle though. if it happens when you are letting off the gas, it's probably the tranny.
     
  7. wagovanb16man

    wagovanb16man i

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ok.

    Well I have a Skunk2 Intake Manifold, Cold Air Intake, and then a badass exhaust leak at the header downpipe and downpipe to cat..

    So maybe that is VTEC I'm hearing.. (I hope so)
     
  8. 1988hondacrxsiR1

    1988hondacrxsiR1 Banned

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest
    Is the ECU chipped and does it have a rev limiter to limit overrevving to not destroy the engine. The map is located on throttle body and the vacuum lines could play a role as well. Any codes i can help on solving that for SURE!;)
     
  9. wagovanb16man

    wagovanb16man i

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Alright, my MAP sensor isnt on the throttle body, its on the firewall.. I got that code solved, now It's blinking 1 and then pause 1 then 7 right after it. Thats VSS, and that because my speedo cable is messed up, no biggie on that one. But I'm have up and down idle. How do I solve that?

    The ECUs I have are stock PWO, and Stock PR3, and they are both cutting out around 6800-7000.. Thats about where my D15 rev limiter was, could it be something like that?

    Btw, shes running nice so far.
     
  10. 1988hondacrxsiR1

    1988hondacrxsiR1 Banned

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest
    up and down Idle. I am assumming that iacv is the problem. It control the air valve when car is started cold and slowly closes as it warms bringing rpm at idle. But up and down at all times. There must be a vacuum leak somewhere in the intake mainfold nipples or it be unplugged and you never knew about it.;)
     
  11. wagovanb16man

    wagovanb16man i

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    What about the hose on the charcole canister that runs to the throttle body?It doesn't quite fit snug on there..

    Also, my Air intake temp. sensor is unplugged because the skunk2 manifold wont let me use it without an aftermarket fuel rail. But it's not throwing a code for that, I don't think, unless thats considered in code #1.
     
  12. 1988hondacrxsiR1

    1988hondacrxsiR1 Banned

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest
    The hose at charcoal canister to throttle is vital that controls fuel vapor beens in the combustion camber. Go to autozone and have one size bigger than stock or have a t- fitting to have stock on canister and another hose on TB to be to T- fitting. Is the SKunk2 intake manifold have a 90=93 acura integra IAT sensor it should fit on stock fuel rail. What code is it throwing? as for code #1 it is the 02 sensor either uplugged, defective circuit or fauly sensor?
    what codes is it throwing i fix those honda codes.
     
  13. wagovanb16man

    wagovanb16man i

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #1 and then a pause and then solid blink, then 7 fast blinks.

    As for the intake, it moved the AIT sensor to the #2 cylinder instead of the stock location at #1. So the fuel pressure regulator hits the plug and wont allow the fuel rail to bolt in snug.
     
  14. 1988hondacrxsiR1

    1988hondacrxsiR1 Banned

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest
    code 17 is VSS Vechicle speed sensor make sure sensor is plugged in with the special key and torque down on tranny to 9 ft lbs any more codes?
     
  15. wagovanb16man

    wagovanb16man i

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Well I figured since I was getting code 1 I'd put on my fairly new Bosch 02 that was on my stock motor.. Now I'm still getting code 1, but VTEC is actually coming on and its running nice. My idle is still up and down though.

    Notes:
    I forgot to mention that I have a MP2 lightweight/underdrive pulley, but I don't think that could change anything.

    Note#2:
    HOLY CRAP VTEC IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!
     
  16. 1988hondacrxsiR1

    1988hondacrxsiR1 Banned

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest
    Is the actual CEL lit on on dash or is ecu blinking and no light on dash. If on ecu only it be faulty but i doubt. It could be you are running lean or rich meaning you are burning too much fuel and 02 is on warning the ecu to lower fuel duration but it can't cause o2 is defective. And vtec is at what rpm just curious
     
  17. wagovanb16man

    wagovanb16man i

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    The light is on at the guages, and is blinking at the ECU..

    VTEC is around 4500ish.

    It's also stumbling a little bit until VTEC kicks in.

    I'm thinking I should try to move the 02 to C16.

    Then again, could the air intake temp sensor be doing this?
     
  18. 1988hondacrxsiR1

    1988hondacrxsiR1 Banned

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest
    YES IAT controls the incoming intake air on manifold for ecu to control the fuel to run good not too rich or too lean
     
  19. wagovanb16man

    wagovanb16man i

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    But shouldn't it be throwing that code instead of 02 sensor?

    It smells like its running a little rich, and my idle is still off.
     
  20. 1988hondacrxsiR1

    1988hondacrxsiR1 Banned

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest
    its two sensors
    o2 sensor and IAT sensor either both are unplugged, defective circuit or the sensor is faulty. can't be any more prolems and as tihe idle could u send a video clip.;)
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page