1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16a TPS sensor issues

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by autox19, Mar 30, 2010.

  1. autox19

    autox19 Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Location:
    Lansnig, Michigan
    I am still trying to tackle the "limp mode" issues. The CEL shows it is a TPS sensor issue. Before I bought a sensor, I tested the current one. What I get is this:

    Yellow Wire Solid 5v
    Red/Blue ~4.5v closed, .5 open.

    Isnt this backwards? shouldnt it be ~.5 closed and ~4.5 open?

    If so, what could cause it to be backward? I cant figure out for the life of me what could do that.

    Thanks!!!
    Odie
     
  2. autox19

    autox19 Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Location:
    Lansnig, Michigan
    I think I got it.

    going to try it tomorrow.

    At the TPS connector on the OBD0 engine harness, switch the
    two outer wires (green/white and green/yellow) by
    cutting/splicing or re-pinning them.


    I forgot the rule of "House" Patients always lie" i.e. the seller always lies... the claim of it ran fine, then intermittent, doesnt really wash here....


    Odie
     
  3. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    150
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    yes....the readings you posted are the opposite of what they should be. I've experienced a TPS code too....no limp mode so maybe you have 2+ codes?? Maybe not....my code was b/c the TB I bought had phillip's screw on the TPS (b/c it was already replaced before I bought it)....the code came and I looked at the sensor....the screws came loose lol.
     
  4. autox19

    autox19 Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Location:
    Lansnig, Michigan
    codes

    yeah, it is throwing 2, the TPS and the ELD. Maybe the electronic load detector is what is throwing it into limp mode.not sure. I am new to hondas. I am used to weber carbs and non-electronics Odie
     
  5. maxbodyworks

    maxbodyworks maxbodyworks

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    its the ecu,....just replace it and you 'll be on the road,...
     
  6. autox19

    autox19 Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Location:
    Lansnig, Michigan
    Old thread. It wasnt the ECU directly. the moron who I bought it from had the programming of the chip messed up. I reverted it back to P28 and all is well.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page