1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

b18a1 into 89 crx

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by brollie, Jul 19, 2008.

  1. brollie

    brollie New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    This is my first swap, and in need to help!!

    I have a b18a1 out of a 92 integra. I put it in into my 89 crx si. I would like to run it obd0 because I dont want to have to buy the ecu jumper harness. I believe the 92 integra motor is obd1. I don't have my stock harness from the d series. So i bought a harness from a 90 integra, because i hear it's plug and play. But when i was plugging everything in today, i noticed that the plugs coming from the body, either don't match the plugs on the harness, or dont' have a plug at all. Do I have to cut any wires and plugs?? Also i believe I need to take off the injectors from the obd1 and put them on the obd0, true?? I guess my main concern are the plugs coming off the body that dont have a plugs, or plugs dont match on the wiring harness from 90 integra harness.

    I'm confused :confused:, i need help from the experts on here. :)
     
  2. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    You need to get an CRX Si harness. It HAS to be an Si harness. It's the only one that will plug into the shock tower plugs that you are currently having a problem with.

    You're gonna be running and obd-0 ecu so you need to stick with the obd-0 injectors. Just pull the injectors off your d series motor and put them on the B18, they'll work fine :)

    You're also gonna need to go get an obd-0 b18 non-vtec distributor.
     
  3. brollie

    brollie New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    SWEET! got the bad girl running. she idles well and doesn't over heat. now i've got another problem. i bled the breaks, but as soon as i turn on the car, the brake pedal just gets loose, like there's no pressure. My buddy and I have been bleeding the breaks for an hour already, but doesn't seem to work. When the car is off, and i keep pressing the break pedal it gets tougher tougher each time, but as soon as i turn the car on, boom, a loose break pedal. what could be the problem?
     
  4. HATCHET_HONDA

    HATCHET_HONDA scottie fizzle

    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Location:
    hobart, indiana
    id try the check valve on the brake booster hose .. it may be bad or you may have forgotten to hook it up maybe??
     
  5. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    lol it's supposed to loosen up because of vacuum. Don't you see the big ass vacuum hose going from the brake booster to the intake manifold?
     
  6. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    Right thats called power brakes, and when the car is off and you keep pumping them you are useing up the remaing vacum pressure left in the line, thus losing your power brakes. As long as the brake pedal doesnt go any lower than the gas pedal when you apply them then the brakes are fine.
     
  7. brollie

    brollie New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    The car is still on stands. I can easily press the break and it will touch the ground, going lower than the gas pedal. I double checked all hoses and stuff, it's all connected. I even had an extra pump to try. I have integra axles, calipers, rotors and ish like that, you think that my crx break pump isn't strong enough for integra?
     
  8. drummingpariah

    drummingpariah Author of the Madness Man

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Your brake pump is just fine for Integra brakes. The difference is only in the front caliper size (and even then it's not a night/day difference). Check all your hoses and make sure you aren't bleeding pressure out anywhere (bleeder valves loose maybe)?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page