best value for money synthetic oil???? which

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

im currently usisng castrol formula rs10w 60 on my car,i used simply because i read somewhere thath bmw uses it for its e46 m3 and latest m5,if these cars roll off the factory with that ,then its gotta be decent...however looking at things critically,how good an oil is castrol formula rs,and which really is the best value for money oil out there???????

I used to run Castrol Syntec in my camry. I run Mobil 1 in the civic. I bought into that whole sales pitch that Castrol isn't a "true" synthetic because it's made from regular petroleum, where Mobil, Motul, and a few others are made from something else. Hell I dunno, I'm no chemical engineer, but like I said I get the Mobil 1 now. I think it's like 5 bucks a quart or something. I gotta change my oil soon.

mobile 1, then castrol syntec.

You can't go wrong with either one.

P.S. If the engineers at honda built the motor, and then recomended 5w30, don't you think that is what you should be using?

They designed it specifically for 5w30. Not 10w30 or 20w60. The tolerances are all spec'd to 5w30 oil. Use it.

my helms manual says its ok for 10w30, and for certain temp ranges actually recommends it...

Well i think PHREGOD has a point, have a look at this link http://asia.vtec.net/topics/oil1.html

assuming u've read the thread ,what weight is the formula RS10w60, i used the entry level castrol gtx 20w50,which is fuuly mineral and dirt cheap,HOWEVER i must say that i vaguely remember my car being more willing to rev on the previous 'dirt cheap' oil....

20w50 versus 10w60,after reading the article ,it seems im using a 'heavier' oil,,,

what are the differences between 20w50 and 10w60?,what exactly do these numbers mean?

what is the viscosity of mobil 1?,if its within the 10w 30 range then its the way to go

Quoted post[/post]]