1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Boosting wireless signal

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by reckedracing, Dec 2, 2005.

  1. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    so my boos is looking to get the wireless router to send a signal all the way to his house, not extremely far, but not too close

    apparently the newgear or linksys one we have now sends a faint signal into the closest corner of the house...

    any way to boost the signal?

    whats the farthest wireless networking has gone so far?

    bestbuy said about 100 meters indoors, and 400 meters outdoors?
    is that the max's?
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  3. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
  4. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    is the cantenna for real?

    or is it like a tin can with a string attached to it?
    lol
     
  5. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    son of a bitch

    i have a netgear wgr614

    its 802.11g but i dunno if the d-link will work with it...?
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  7. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    i'm not sure this will work for me, i'm trying to connect 2 diffrent buildings, with seperate meters...
     
  8. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    you can buy bigger antennas or make custom ones. placing it away from wireless phones and higher places usually help. ive seen people place like alum. foil and crazy home made shit that works, but i think it violates FCC regulations?

    or you can junk and go mimo or pre-n. way faster than g and longer range.
     
  9. erikespo

    erikespo Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Location:
    Western New York
    The electric outlet won't work between buidlings.. I dont' think.. you best bet is some kind of wireless unidirectional antenna

    If you have a linksys wrtg you can pul hacked firmware on it and bump up your power.. but.. it spreads into other channels making it a violation
     
  10. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    yeah, the cantenna works.
     
  11. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    what do you spreads? i have that router and ive seen a lot of 3rd party firmware, but don't know what they do.
     
  12. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    what you really want is a point to point, or access point..... not a router...
     
  13. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    well, we have the router for the office, for the network and diffrent work stations, the wireless is just an additional bonus that we just started using

    my boss got a laptop from dell that came with a wireless card so i just hooked it up and got it working but now we're trying to get it to work in his house...

    i dunno...

    i'll have to do some more research i guess

    so B, whats a point to point? or access point?
     
  14. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    basically, its a BEAM of signal, instead of a circle.

    you hook up 2 units to aim at each other and it passes the signal from A to B, but there is no reception in the dead zone
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page