1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. 402streetracer

    402streetracer New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Omaha NE
    For some reason i cant get power from the wire lead in the dash, so i was wondering, i hooked up a direct lead from the battery (fused) it powers off with the car and all that good stuff would it be ok to run it like that until i have time to get deeper into it and see whats going on with the dash wire, ive checked all fuses and they are fine but no juice from it,
     
  2. Boomhauers_90CRX

    Boomhauers_90CRX First Time Honda Owner

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Location:
    The BURGH (412)
    I had this same problem, so run a hot wire with a in-line fuse to a switch (power) than as acc. run one from the switch to the power wire in the factory harness.
     
  3. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    Not to sound dumb or insult you, but you checked the fuses right? Try checking continuity from the fuse to the end of the wire where youre connecting the radio harness.
     
  4. neonmike

    neonmike Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    114
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
  5. 402streetracer

    402streetracer New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Omaha NE
    yes i checked the fuses, i've done this before i know how to fix it i'm just trying to find a lazy way out for the moment, ive just never ran a direct in-fuse line from the batt to a stereo so i wanted to make sure it would be safe,
     
  6. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    Not to insult you or anything, but you cannot check for continuity in a circuit with more than one load. :) To make this easier to understand, I will use injectors as an example. When the injector is removed, and disconnected from its circuit, you use a multi-meter and set it to read resistance (ohms). Then you would put your + pointer on the lead end and the - pointer on the ground end. If it comes out OL than there is no continuity. If you get a reading of resistance, any at all there is continuity. Just means the circuit inside is connected and not broken. :)
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page