1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cruise into an Integra Turbo

Discussion in 'Integra' started by 2kTurboGSR, Oct 19, 2012.

  1. 2kTurboGSR

    2kTurboGSR New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Hey guys. Just joined today and might as well start off with my first question!

    I have a 2000 GSR that I bought used about a year ago. It has a PeakBoost turbo kit and is running about 8-9psi and makes 311whp (absolutely love it!). I don't drive the car hard and it's lasted me a good while. I bought the car with the turbo already on it but the car didn't have cruise control. I didn't care at the time, but now I'm driving about 60 miles a day and thought it would be nice.

    I did some research but couldn't find too much info except getting something aftermarket. i was looking at this kit: Rostra 250-1223 and this switch: Rostra 250-3742. I know these are universal, but I haven't found much info on just how much work it would take to wire up into a DC2. There are some generic install instructions here: http://www.rostra.com/manuals/250-1223Form4565G.pdf but it looks pretty complex.

    So my question is... has anyone tried this? Worth it? Easy/tough? Are there any DC2 specific writeups?

    Also, what about just going the stock route? What if I get a cruise off a junk Integra? I figure that would be more work, but has anyone tried this?

    Thanks guys!
     
  2. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,392
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I personally hate cruise control, but I know you can get everything you need in the right junkyard for $100-200.
     
  3. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,449
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    gsr should have had everything in it from the factory. you can probably find someone ripping their systme out at a yard, or in the classifieds for just a few bucks. odds are, just the black box near the driverside shock tower towards the front of the car was removed and unplugged. it's just a connector and a vac line after that, assuming you have the steering wheel controls still and the brake/clutch switches still in place to disable it on pedal press.

    But i agree, it's useless. I haven't used cruise in at least 10 years. it's really only worth while if you live in the middle of nowhere and have wide open roads with no other idiots in front of you, on ramps, etc etc.
     
  4. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,392
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Perhaps the previous owner felt the way we do about it, pulled it all out, and sold it.
     
  5. double0Si

    double0Si ლ(ಠ益ಠლ) VIP

    Messages:
    8,604
    Likes Received:
    585
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    I don't know about you guys, but I drive my cars long distances on the freeway. VERY useful. Invented for a reason.
     
  6. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,392
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I've driven 10 hours for ski/road trips. I didn't use it. I simply don't like it.
     
  7. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    When ever I go on driving business trips, I make sure to take a car with radar cruise. I set me speed, then don't touch any buttons or pedals for the next few hours. It's nice.
     
  8. dc4dude

    dc4dude Member

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    chicago, il
    I live in chicago... There ARE no open spaces.... No need for cruise control....
     
  9. double0Si

    double0Si ლ(ಠ益ಠლ) VIP

    Messages:
    8,604
    Likes Received:
    585
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    :bs: I lived there a couple years. Used it all the time.
     
  10. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,392
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I've used the intelligent cruise in the Infinitis. Better than regular cruise, but I still didn't like it.
     
  11. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Yup, can't live without cruise in Texas. > 40k miles a year and I definitely do NOT drive for a living. Cruise is a necessity.
     
  12. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,449
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    might as well just let the car drive completely for you then...


    oh, wait... that's coming too.





    as a driver on a car board, i'm ashamed of all of you. lol
     
  13. double0Si

    double0Si ლ(ಠ益ಠლ) VIP

    Messages:
    8,604
    Likes Received:
    585
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    :facepalm: Because that's a fair statement. Drive the utterly flat and straight 5-6 hour span between Chicago and Columbus (with the exception of the Indianapolis leg of course) a dozen or so times and let me know how you feel about it afterwards.Do it on a crotch rocket as well. Tons of fun. :(

    I love driving but certain situations just suck. It's just like how driving a manual is way more fun until you're stuck in gridlock traffic for hours.

    Do you have/use self propel on your lawnmower?
     
  14. dc4dude

    dc4dude Member

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    chicago, il
    SHENANIGANS!!!! I live IN the city.. The only time you could remotely use cruise control is in the early morning hours or super late at night... And even then its iffy because of assholes and idiots... If you live in the Chicagoland area, north, east, or south of Chicago, i could understand....
     
  15. double0Si

    double0Si ლ(ಠ益ಠლ) VIP

    Messages:
    8,604
    Likes Received:
    585
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    You never leave the city? I was west. But I was all over the place. Especially 88 and 355.
     
  16. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,449
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    I don't see how a self-propelled lawnmower even relates... that's like a power-adder (turbo?) not something that drivers for you.

    I prefer a manual in stop and go. gotta hold the brake constantly in an automatic. So much easesr to lay flat in a manual, use the ebrake, coast, and if it's uphill, leave a little room between the car in front of you and try to ride it out flat in first inching along.
     
  17. dc4dude

    dc4dude Member

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    chicago, il
    I hardly ever leave the city dude... And if you're on 88 and 355... I could see how you would use cruise control...
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page