D15b - vtec... good build for a beginner?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

BossFerrell

Im pretty new to building motors or any mechanical work for that matter, but I have always been in love with Hondas and finally decided that I want to take on a project, I have a friend who owns a shop and said he wouldn't mind letting me use a lift and wouldn't mind helping me re-build the engine I decide to buy.

My question is would it be worth it to buy and build a D15b so that I can start learning to build motors without having to spend a lot (because if I screw it up I'm not out that much) or should I just go all out and get a B18 or H22 and just call it a day and learn to rebuild on one of those?

Also what kind of horsepower can I look at getting out of a D15B - vtec with just bolt-ons and simple mods (Non Turbo)?

Probably close to 150 at the very max without actually tearing into the motor itself. And that's pushing it.

yeah 150hp def isnt what I want to do, Ill probably just look into a b18 and learn to rebuild with brand new parts and such on that. Might as well start on that since that is what I want eventually anyway.

also if I did the D15b and rebuilt it with new cams, rods, bored it out and what not and then put bolt-ons id only be able to push 150hp? then how does Bisi build them with 150 hp with just a header?

I got 141hp and that was with a custom fuel map and I:h:e for the old car :( it's possible, but as for moddibility goes, it has .1% potential

im so confused as to how everywhere i look says this motor puts out 125-130 hp stock but people are barely getting 100 hp out of it to the wheels when they mod it? Can anybody tell me a better cheap swap then? one that i can get like 200 hp at least out of?