1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

d16 to d15b swap need help

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by dirtycarl, Aug 16, 2010.

  1. dirtycarl

    dirtycarl New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Ok so my wife blew my motor on my 97 civic ex about a month ago. So I bought a D15B online got it for a good price thought it would be a easy swap. I got the motor in easy enough but when i went to hook everything up I found that I was missing some connections. So I asked around and people told me that I needed a harness and ECU from a D15B is that correct I found a junk yard that said that they had one they pulled it and when I got home today I found the ECU to be a P2P just like my old one and the wiring harness to be exactly the same am I crazy did I just not have the wiring hooked up right or did this junk yard sell me a ECU and harness that was wrong PLEASE HELP
     
  2. dirtycarl

    dirtycarl New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    And what ecu do I need and what car will I find it in
     
  3. d-mon

    d-mon what r u compensating 4?

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    if your are talking about dual stage vtec d15b?
    [​IMG]
    ecu for obd2 d15b is p2j. jdm model
    i don't believe there were any obd2 usdm d15's and neither does the california state ref.
     
  4. RoughKnight

    RoughKnight Christmas Car

    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ont
    none that were usdm, they came in a special civic called ferio in japan and asian markets, there is also a obd1 version as well. If u have the abouve pictured, then you require the p2j as d-mon said along with a one wire o2 sensor. There are tonnes of other tricks involving this engine, but if you want your dual stage vtec's to work, you MUST use the OEM wiring and ecu. You can technically run the p2p, but it'll run like crap below 2k rpm or 2.5k or whenever the first vtec was supposed to hit
     
  5. dirtycarl

    dirtycarl New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    hey thanks for all the help guys I ended up changing out my intake manifold and ny vtec off my old d16 that way I can run my p2p ecu without problems
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page