1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

d16y7 to d16z6?

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by broonie86, May 29, 2008.

  1. broonie86

    broonie86 New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    hi i have a 98 civic coupe which had a d16y7 engine until a conrod gave way and went through the block :(

    i have a complete d16z6 engine but no wiring loom for it, i know the engine fits in the car but i dont know how to wire it up with my car, am i right in thinking that i will need a p28 ecu and add a few wires so that vtec will work or do i need to do a bit more than that?

    if anyone can help on this it would be greatly appreciated as i need the car on the road asap

    thanks

    broonie
     
  2. broonie86

    broonie86 New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008

    ok how fo i go about converting the engine to OBD11 as i dont have the loom for the z6

    do i just change the dizzy and ecu then wire in vtec to my loom?

    im hoping to do this this weekend so need help asap

    thanks

    broonie
     
  3. broonie86

    broonie86 New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    ok sorry i didnt search before i posted but i have very limited net access at wiork and i work 12 hour shifts, so only get online at weekends

    anyway ive been searching around for a couple of hours and as far as i can see all i need to do is put my loom on the z6, add wires for vtec and wire into the z6 ecu and get a ecu jumper pack and all should be fine :)

    am i correct with the above?

    if it makes any difference it is a uk car ;)

    need this done asap as the crx is getting the b16/b20 combo put in at the moment :D and my daily runner is out of mot next month and wont pass another so need another car now

    cheers

    broonie
     
  4. jeffsciv23

    jeffsciv23 Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Location:
    Wa
    yes your correct, just plug the harness in as usual then order a obd2a-obd1 jumper harness, then cut the wires for the vtec sol and vtec pressure switch and run them into the engine bay. then just plug the p28 in and it should work. oh yeah and the IACV needs to be converted to two wire instead of the three wire on obd2 cars.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2008
  5. broonie86

    broonie86 New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    sounds simple :)

    where is the best place to get a jumper harness in the uk?

    thanks for the help, been reading through the forum and it seems a very good, helpfull site

    broonie
     
  6. jeffsciv23

    jeffsciv23 Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Location:
    Wa
    not sure about the UK but i picked one up on a honda forum for 40 shipped. www.jdmshit.com used to sell them for about 75 new
     
  7. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    www.rywire.com is a good source.

    in regard to your car being in the UK, i'm wondering.... is your coupe right hand drive like your crx? i don't know off hand if there's a difference between a left hand drive engine harness and a right hand drive harness. anyone know?
     
  8. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Right-hand-drive harnesses are opposite compared to left-hand-drive harnesses. That's why people generally modify their stock harnesses when they swap in JDM motors rather than attempt to use the left-hand-drive harness...
     
  9. jeffsciv23

    jeffsciv23 Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Location:
    Wa
    ecu plugs are the same. if they weren't it wouldn't make any sence how you can use a JDM ecu in a US car ;)
     
  10. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    That's fine that the plugs are the same. The wires are not ment to route the USDM direction tho.

    Thanks Brutal, that's what I was assuming, but didn't wanna be an ass :)
     
  11. jeffsciv23

    jeffsciv23 Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Location:
    Wa
    yeah but its not like he is gonna use a whole new harness instead of adding 2 wires.
     
  12. broonie86

    broonie86 New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    yeah my coupe is a right hooker like my crx,

    so is there a difference between a lhd and a rhd for the jumper harness?

    cheers

    broonie
     
  13. jeffsciv23

    jeffsciv23 Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Location:
    Wa
  14. |Chaz|

    |Chaz| Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    Non-related, but I love how you guys say cheers :D
     
  15. broonie86

    broonie86 New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    ok cheers for the info

    i think its because we are a nation of drinkers and i have a tin of tennents as i type :D

    cheers

    broonie
     
  16. broonie86

    broonie86 New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    ive managed to get hold of the wiring loom for the z6 but ive noticed that unlike my y7 loom the z6 loom doesnt plug straight into the ecu, is there another part of the loom i need to get before i can use this to plug into a p28?

    cheers

    broonie
     
  17. jeffsciv23

    jeffsciv23 Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Location:
    Wa
    your supposed to just use the y7 harness and add the two wires for vtec
     
  18. broonie86

    broonie86 New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    i have both looms here but i think i have to change a few wires around as the inlet manifold is completely different on both engines and a few plugs look different

    cheers

    broonie
     
  19. jeffsciv23

    jeffsciv23 Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Location:
    Wa
    should be a 2 wire IACV glug instead of the 3 wire on the y7. really shouldn't be that hard if you just start plugging the sensors up and once you see one that doesn't fit just swap plugs.
     
  20. broonie86

    broonie86 New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    ok il give that a go, was thinking about that but didnt know if it was the right way to do it :D

    cheers

    broonie
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page