1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DOS + WinXP

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by cheese9988, Feb 6, 2006.

  1. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    Well I have a program that was made for a DOS platform. It runs no problem, its just that when I do any kind of scrolling or hit the key, it goes so fast I can't do anything with it. Is there anyway I can slow it down a few notches?

    Also, does win2k have better dos support, I mean it doesn't seem to work well with sound cards and vesa support doesn't seem to be there?

    I know its old school, but I still like to use it on occasion.
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    open the dos prompt manually first-

    start-run-cmd

    then call the exe or bat file directly in the dos window.

    if you jsut double click the program, it will open up then scrool then close.
     
  3. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    I can actually use the program, it comes up and works fine and all. But everything in it goes so fast its difficult to use. It was probably written on a 486 or an early pentium.
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    you can use the pause/break key to pause it.. but you gotta be fast.

    why can't you just scroll up?

    maybe theres a /switch like /p you can use?
     
  5. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    I can scroll up, but if I hit the button, even for a slit second, it scrolls all the way over.
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    i dunno dude. dos stopped being used in like 1996... lol get a newer program.

    neither xp nor 2k have DOS.

    what you are running is a virtual machine of sorts that mimics dos.

    if you want dos, go to bootdisk.com, grab an old dos distro, and load it up on a new partition
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page