1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dual Monitors?

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by reckedracing, Apr 25, 2006.

  1. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    So i finally talked my boss into getting me a dual monitor setup
    one for myself and one for him
    we are currently running one 15" flat screen each

    i'm guessing i need a special video card for dual monitors for each machine right?
     
  2. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    video card that supports two monitors.. some are dual dvi, some are dual vga (really old) and some are dvi and vga.
     
  3. YouKnowWhoIBee

    YouKnowWhoIBee my avatar is better.

    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    yea, you need a video card capable of processing dual monitors. You can get them for around 130 ish from newegg. i recommend invidia.
     
  4. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    You can get it for way cheaper than that, and it depends on what you're going to do. Hell, even a cheap $30 Nvidia 6200 (newegg) will do it with dvi and vga.

    Anyway, the price moves up if you want dual dvi and depending on graphical needs.
     
  5. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    what processor and memory spec's would you recommend for a dual setup?

    i've got an AMD Athlon XP 1800+ w/ 228708KB RAM which i assume is a single 256

    graphical needs are rudimentary...
    no gaming etc
    i occassionally watch a movie at work, i would like to be able to do that, but i'd rather have dual monitors than my boss passing cause its too much $$
     
  6. Celerity

    Celerity Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    21,969
    Likes Received:
    146
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Avoid everything APPIAN.
     
  7. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    If you have a free PCI slot, you can use a PCI card along with the card you have now. Windows *SHOULD* detect it and know what to do (never did multihead on a Windows box). If you can't go that way, take everyone else's advice and snag a dual output video card. Most geForce and ATI cards have this, so there's nothing super special you need to grab, maybe except for a DVI to VGA adapter which usually comes with the card.
     
  8. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    so most monitors now come with VGA to DVI conversions?
    or most LCD's just come with DVI?
     
  9. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    yes you can run two seperate video cards.

    in BIOS you should be able to specify which card takes primary.
     
  10. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    you CAN buy DVI capable LCDs, or just buy a DVI>VGA converter.
     
  11. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Most of the video cards today or even older ones have dual video outputs. The older ones tend to have 1 DVI and 1 VGA. The newer ones usually have 2 DVIs and most often include an adapter for DVI -> VGA. There is one that goes the other way (VGA -> DVI) but in reality it wont up convert the signal, it'll stay analog.

    To make it more complicated, DVIs come in single link and dual link. Dual link has more bandwidth and if you look at the connecter, there a few pins with a +. The single link only has a few pins with a -. Most of the video cards have the + and monitors have the -. What to do? Just get the single link cable and itll be fine. ONLY GET DUAL LINK if BOTH monitor and video card support it. Look for the + pins.

    With that out of the way; NO not all monitors come with DVI. Ask or look. The DVI connections are a lot bigger, roughly twice that of VGA. And if it is DVI, itll most likely have VGA.

    You can get two monitors running, one with DVI and one with VGA or two DVIs or two VGAs. Preferrably two DVIs because of consistency and better image quality, especially in LCDs.

    You can also get two separate video cards. Depending on which you have, you can get a mixture. Older boards usually have AGP and PCI. So you can getone of each. Newer ones will have either 2 PCI-e and PCI or 1 PCI-e and PCI.

    Now if you were getting two new monitors and want it nice, I suggest getting a card with dual DVI and 2 exact monitors with DVI.
     
  12. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    hell, there's even usb external cards to add on a monitor...
     
  13. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    The EASIEST way is to take ANY ANY ANY PCI Video Card and just throw it in an empty slot. Instant Dual Monitors. Hell... I used to run 3 monitors.
     
  14. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    [​IMG]

    Pieced it together with 3 geForce cards, built to run Celestia (shown running). Wish I could have gotten better monitors though.

    That aside, three monitors is much better than two... you're not staring at a gap when you look at the center of your display setup.

    Now this...

    [​IMG]

    Is simply badass. The three displays are seamless. Excellent for Celestia.
     
  15. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Holy crap-tastic! Those 3 CRT's are butt ugly. Lol. But at least you have 3 monitors running for less than 100 bucks. CRTs are being given a way free and those old PCI cards are like 10-20 bucks used.

    If you had the money, why not just get a big nice 20.1"+ Widescreen? Unless you need 3(2) seperate images.
     
  16. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    i need to be able to view last years tax returns on one screen and prepare the current years on another screen

    we are no longer keeping paper copies in our files, so i need another screen to view the e-file cabinet

    pushing towards paperless
    we also have a copier/scanner that will put all original documents into the clients e-file cabinet drawer...

    i dunno if a 20.1+ widescreen will have enough room to view both programs, and i doubt it'll be as cheap as picking up another cheap card and lcd
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page