1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ECU question

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by jackgetoff, May 4, 2006.

  1. jackgetoff

    jackgetoff Junior Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    will a p2t(2000 SiR and a p72(because i have b18c) swap without any new harnesses and all thata jazz, also will the ecu conflict with any of the cars elctrical components, ?>
     
  2. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    youll have to disable the knock sensor on the P72 (dunno if you can do that with an OBD2 P72)

    If you have an OBD1 P72, it will need to be chipped and have a conversion harness.
     
  3. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    i like to repost PM answered questions just so people can search easier:

    Okay, i read the question wrong. I didnt realize you had a GSR swapped Si. Yes you should be using a P72, but both OBD1 and OBD2 P72s will require a conversion harness. The Civic is OBD2b the ECU would be OBD2a.

    If you keep the engine stock, go with the OBD2 ECU. If you plan to turbo or do some kind of serious mods (not I/H/E) then go with an OBD1 so you can tune later.
     
  4. sleepercivic

    sleepercivic Senior Member

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Location:
    NC Mountains

    why would he have to disable the Knock Sensor? I don't understand this, would you explain?
     
  5. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    i didnt realize he swapped a GSR when i wrote that. I thought he wanted to use the P72 to run a B16
     
  6. sleepercivic

    sleepercivic Senior Member

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Location:
    NC Mountains
    B16 and GSR, both have Knock, i still don't understand why you would disable knock
     
  7. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    do they really...i was pretty sure the A3 didnt and i was just carrying that (apparently incorrect) notion over to this question.
     
  8. sleepercivic

    sleepercivic Senior Member

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Location:
    NC Mountains
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page