Engine types

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

92accord

Ok guys.....I'm the newest nOOb here and I'm in somewhat of a rut. I own a 1992 Accord EX auto. The engine has an absurd amount of miles and I just replaced the cyl head a week ago. Anyways, it has a rod knocking and is otherwise a timebomb waiting to go off. I have been debating on doing the H22A swap for some time since I have discovered that it is possible to swap engines into an Accord. The thing is, I don't really have the money to do the complete H22A swap. This car is my daily driver and I need to get it running. Engines locally at salvage yards are rediculous and not worth the hassle really. So, I'm wondering what other slightly upgraded (read: better than the F22A6) will swap into my Accord fairly easily until I have the coin to do the H22A swap? On a side note, can I use my auto trans that is currently in the car? I'm on a seriously tight budget. I know that a 5spd is the proper way to go but I can't afford it quite yet. My main issues are when I do get my H22A, I'm getting the engine/ecu/harness and that's it. Will my auto trans hold up to the extra power of the H22A for a while until I get the manual trans? Also, does anyone know what the gears are for the Accord 5spd and the Prelude 5spd? I haven't a clue and I've searched google until my fingers ached. I have heard that the Prelude trans has closer ratio gears and the Accord has wider spaced gears. Can anyone confirm this? I would more than likely use an Accord 5spd because I can get one of those for real cheap from a donor car, plus the taller gears = higher top end.....lol. Thanx for any help everyone and sorry for all the questions. Just trying to learn as much as possible before I dive headlong into a hole w/out a rope to pull myself out with....lol.

heres my 2 cents.

i have a 94 lx auto with an f22b2 (POS) and i just started my h22a swap and 5spd conversion.