Exhaust Manifold Removal

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Lemur6

Hey guys, bear with me, I'm a complete noob with it comes to doing anything in a car. I've got a D15 head from a 91 CRX DX with the exhaust manifold stuck to it. I got the shield/cover off, but I can't get the nuts for the actual manifold off with my socket wrench (small one). Nuts looks like they're the self locking kind, and my socket keeps slipping off or I just can't exert enough torque on the nuts to get them off. How do I get these dang nuts off? Do I just use a bigger wrench?

Why am I doing this? Oh, for fun. The head is actually pretty shot, it's warped and corroded up like crazy around the oil/coolant channels (I think that's what they are). I kinda wanted to clean it up and have it as a coffee table ornamet or something (the valve cams and rockers are all in decent condition and look kinda cool). The pistons make awesome coasters too!

try a bigger socket wrench the real big ones form like autozone you dont have to buy it you can rent it but a bigger socket wrench will work

Uhh... sorry if this sounds completely naive, but what's a breaker bar?

those nuts are hard to get off (especially if you have the same clearance problem an h22 has). I had to use the elbow socket (some call em wabble sockets) on 3 of my h22 bolts to get those bitches off.

if he cant get it off with a regular socket at 16lbs he might as well use air its lazy mans way..

or if you dont have a steel/metal tube.use a box end wrench that fits over the socket wrench handle and pretty much common sense from there

HFT-USA
this is a breaker bar, u can put a pipe over your wrench "cheater bar" but I have broke a couple of wrenches like that so be carefull. Also spray it down with some pb blaster and let it soak for a bit.

Just use some sort of breaker bar as described here and some rust killer (pb, wd-40, etc) and it should be no time before the nuts are free.