1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

f22 rods in an h22a?

Discussion in 'Prelude' started by 92jdmlude, Jan 24, 2011.

  1. 92jdmlude

    92jdmlude New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    ok i have a 92 lude with a jdm h22a in it. when i bought the car vtec didnt work. then somehow, as i was driving in a massive rainstorm, at LOW rpm's i might add, my car dies. i cranked for about 20 min and it finally fired up. only with a LOUD knock. so i drive it home and rip it apart and the #1 conncting rod bent. so i got a new balanced and pollished crank from an h22a, and new main and rod bearings. i had some spare f22b2 rods laying around. they are a little shorter than the stock h22a rods. they should still work fine and carry enough compression to run right? and after i got it back together and put it in the car, it did not want to run. so i did a comp test and i had about 30 lbs of compression on the first 2 cylinders. when i put the head gasket on i torqued it down twice, like a dumbass. i forgot something and had to do it again. so i tore the motor apart and found what looked like a piece of the compression tester stuck in the spark plug hole for cylinder 1. so im going to get that out and make sure the threads on all 4 cylinders are good. buy a new head gasket, and put it back together. my questions are ,would the f22 rods cause the compression to drop from 250 lbs to 30 lbs? personally i dont think it should. i think i had a gasket leak. and will the motor run with the f22 rods? assuming the head gasket seals the way it should. any info will be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.
     
  2. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    It shouldn't cause it to drop that low.

    It should run but you'll most likely lose some power.
     
  3. 92jdmlude

    92jdmlude New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    i was figuring i would loose a little power. but not really a noticable differance.
     
  4. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,092
    Likes Received:
    188
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    check your rings, im willing to bet on that one
     
  5. 92jdmlude

    92jdmlude New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    sorry i forgot to mention previously, i did put new rings on the stock h22 pistons im using. made sure that the splits were on opposite sides of each other, put the number 1 ring on the top of the oil ring and the number 2 ring under the oil ring.
     
  6. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,092
    Likes Received:
    188
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    not hating, but just cause u put new rings in doesnt mean when u put them in the engine you did it correctly, usually when you rebuild a engine you want to have the cylinders re-bored and step up a size in pistons so everything is a tight clean fit
     
  7. 92jdmlude

    92jdmlude New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    i understand all that. im sure i put them in correctly. and nothing actually happend to the block or pistons. it was the rod and possibly crank. and as far as i know you cannot bore those blocks without re-sleeving it. and that gets pricey. wanting to do this as cheap as possible. i might add, the motor still ran and reved fine when i pulled it from the car. technically i shouldnt have to touch either the head or the block right?
     
  8. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    You can bore them out, you just can't run forged pistons.

    You gapped the rings properly? Really, since it's together, just get a leak-down test done. Easiest way to find the leak.

    Also, I'm assuming the motor hasn't been broken in yet?
     
  9. chinchillad760

    chinchillad760 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    i have a 93 cb7 acord

    hey i have a 93 cb7 accord with a f22a non vetech i would like to know what can i do to make it build horse power without using a h22 head
     
  10. 92jdmlude

    92jdmlude New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    yes im sure they are gapped right. and the block is together in the car. the head and its componants are out of the car now. and no it hasnt been broken in since the rebuild. but like i said the motor did run. i put prolly 3000 miles on it before the rod bent. so the head and the pistons have about 50000 to 60000 miles on them. main and rod bearings, piston rings, rods, crank, head gasket, and all timing componants all got replaced.
     
  11. 92jdmlude

    92jdmlude New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Chinchillad, as far as making hp with a non-vtec f22, i would build it and boost it. those are low compression motors which are great for boost. but like i said u have to build it or else you will scatter the block with any more than 10 lbs. of boost. another good thing is those f22 blocks are a dime a dozen.
     
  12. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    When you install new rings and hone the cylinder, the ring fit isn't tight until after it has been broken in. I've never heard of the compression dropping that low though but could be a contributing factor.

    H22A head doesn't fit on a F22A block.
     
  13. splashofpaint

    splashofpaint New Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    canada
    heres' a point... f22 rod shorter stroke same bore therefore less compression compaired to the h22 longer stroke same bore more compression if something is shorter less weight throwing crank balance off on what ever cylinder that lighter weight is on , exploding the crank later on down the road but the first thing you will notice is it will feel like your driving on 3.5 cylinders , detonation of cylinders just goes to h.....because compretion of each is not equal through out the power stroke of the crank hopefully this will help with your question will the f22 rod work with the h22 it will but their will be consiquences....
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2011
  14. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Pistons/combustion chamber have a lot to due with compression in addition to bore and stroke, and I'm pretty sure he swapped all the rods and not just one.
     
  15. 92jdmlude

    92jdmlude New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    yes i swapped all the rods not just one. but ive just decided to buy a new motor and put it in. less hassle. lol. thanks for the info. it made me realize that wasnt a very good idea.
     
  16. splashofpaint

    splashofpaint New Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    canada
    had to ask as i've seen people try
     
  17. 92jdmlude

    92jdmlude New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    I understand. I'm not quite that new to cars. I do know better than that lol. Is there any advice out there about using a rhd motor in a lhd car as far as wiring goes?
     
  18. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    You need LHD engine harness; just reuse your old one.
     
  19. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,092
    Likes Received:
    188
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    haha really ? they are the same engines, use your existing harness
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page