1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Field Vtec Controller Trouble

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by mattcalica, Mar 12, 2003.

  1. mattcalica

    mattcalica Senior Member

    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    okay, heres the problem. i have my vtec crossover point at 4500 rpm, but when i start driving, the vtec controller drops the vtec crossoever point to 2000 rpm. i reset it, and after a few minutes of driving, it does the same thing again. it was not giving me these problems before, but all of sudden, it started doing this. anyone have any ideas of what it could be? what wires should i check for?
     
  2. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    pull it out, sell it and buy an apex-i.
    :lol:

    but seriously.. .does the display go to 2k rpm?? or can you just hear it activate at 2000?
     
  3. mattcalica

    mattcalica Senior Member

    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    umm, both...i can hear the car switch over so i click on the vtec controller and sure enough, its set at 2000 rpm...
     
  4. Domeskilla

    Domeskilla Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN

    So set it at 7000 and when it kicks in, it will kick in at 4500

    4500-2000 = 2500

    7000-2500 = 4500

    you get your requested vtec point. :)
     
  5. mattcalica

    mattcalica Senior Member

    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    nope, tried that...i set it at 5000 and 6000 still switches down to 2000
     
  6. Domeskilla

    Domeskilla Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN

    Damn :(, but hey, its a Fields, nuff said :) Sell ir or trash it and get a real vfac, a Apex one.
     
  7. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    it must be defective. take it back or send it for repair
     
  8. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    umm, you do know that if you press the button on the fields while driving, it instantly turns on vtec, right? you have to be at idle to set it...

    You should see where it says HI CAM switch from green to red when VTEC is engaged.... you might just be hearing things.
     
  9. integra540

    integra540 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    i'll buy it from you my guy has the same one
     
  10. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    :headsmash:Holy 6 year old thread dude. FAIL
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page