1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Flashing code 17

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by civicrus, Mar 19, 2006.

  1. civicrus

    civicrus Junior Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    My ECU is saying I have a bad VSS, but I have replaced it twice and My speedometer still don't work. Do anyone know if I have another bad VSS, or do you guys think its a bad gauge cluster, or something else?
     
  2. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    check wire continuity?
     
  3. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    +1
    It sounds more like a bad ground or a wire short.
    My VSS CEL came on, it was full of water, dried it out and cleaned it up, works great.
    PS: It's NOT your cluster, your cluster doesn't care whether or not your VSS is working, and your ECU doesn't ask your cluster whether or not your VSS is working, it checks the sensor.
     
  4. GSRCIVICTN

    GSRCIVICTN Lost in a sea of rednecks

    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    +1
    He has answered your question. If you aren't familiar with wiring, have someone look at it for you.
     
  5. kaoskustoms

    kaoskustoms Senior Member

    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    casper wyoming man
    if spedo does not work try the guage
     
  6. GSRCIVICTN

    GSRCIVICTN Lost in a sea of rednecks

    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Cluster has not a thing to do with VSS signal.
     
  7. kaoskustoms

    kaoskustoms Senior Member

    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    casper wyoming man

    will if the cluster is bad it will not take the signal from the vss there for not working
     
  8. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    I disagree.
    Take your cluster out, drive around the block, come back and plug it in.
    Check for CELs stored using the paperclip.
     
  9. kaoskustoms

    kaoskustoms Senior Member

    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    casper wyoming man
    alright here is a quick tip for most hondas
    when you drive if the spedo does not work and the miles roll you need a guage

    if they both dont you need a vss
     
  10. GSRCIVICTN

    GSRCIVICTN Lost in a sea of rednecks

    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    That pretty much applies to any car or truck with a similar setup. The original question has nothing to do with his speedo working. Read and you will see that this guy keeps getting a VSS code and has repeatedly replaced the sensor. The problem must be in the wiring or (much less likely) the PCM. The cluster will not cause the PCM to see a problem in the VSS circuit. Period.
     
  11. kaoskustoms

    kaoskustoms Senior Member

    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    casper wyoming man
    wont a bad cluster set code? i think it would if it could not recive signal. if the ecu send signal to cluster and cluster is inop wont the ecu see the problem, then set code.
     
  12. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    No.
    The ECU DOES NOT CHECK THE SIGNAL FROM THE CLUSTER.
    :ph34r: :ph34r:
     
  13. 95preludesi

    95preludesi Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    So did you ever find out what was causing the problem? I have the SAME exact problem in my 95 Prelude SI right now. The D4 light blinks and I always throw a code 17 even after I replaced the VSS with a brand new one from Honda.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page