1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

got a check engine light! 90 siR

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by Schock3, Dec 16, 2008.

  1. Schock3

    Schock3 Junior Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    got a check engine light on. its been on for a while. i can see the led blinking dont know what its tellin me tho. anyway to bypass the code?
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    just fix the code, long pulse =10s short pulse = 1s count them
     
  3. Schock3

    Schock3 Junior Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
  4. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
  5. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i'm guessing it has something to do with your TPS
     
  6. Schock3

    Schock3 Junior Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    7 short ones. TPS sensor?
     
  7. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    throttle position sensor... its on the back of the throttle body.. black thing angled down at 45 degrees
     
  8. Schock3

    Schock3 Junior Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    i have been to 3 parts stores and cant find this TPS anywhere!!! any help?
     
  9. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    honda, or ebay maybe
     
  10. Schock3

    Schock3 Junior Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    just bought a new one for 36.00 Shipped!! hope that is my problem
     
  11. Schock3

    Schock3 Junior Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    another question. i have no o2 sensors am i supposed to?
     
  12. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
  13. eg'sforlife

    eg'sforlife New Member

    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    29 stumps, CA
    are you sure something not wrong with your motor
     
  14. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    Honda only sells them with the throttle body

    good deal.. eBay? i know i've seen them on there

    yes.. if you smell gas all the time its because of the missing o2 sensor(s)
     
  15. Schock3

    Schock3 Junior Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    na i dont even smell gas all the time tho. that will also throw a code? can i wire up some dummy o2's at the ecu?
     
  16. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    no o2 will throw a code also.. i'd just run one if i were you.. your car will love you forever, so will the air
     
  17. Schock3

    Schock3 Junior Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    do you know what wire i should be lookin for off the ecu?? i have 2 wires that dont go to anything. this car has passed emission's and everything.
     
  18. Schock3

    Schock3 Junior Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    with one should i run?? on my exhaust the outlet where the o2 screws into is before the cat not after it
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page