1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GSR Motor in a '95 Civic mapping question.

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by scamcorp, Sep 9, 2007.

  1. scamcorp

    scamcorp New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    I have a 95' Civic with a 94-01 Integra GSR motor swap in it. I believe the previous owner said it was switched over to odb 1. It should redline at 8200 as most of you should know, but my car is redlining at the stock 6500 map for the civic. It will just hit the rev limiter. In addition to that, the VTEC never kicks in, not at 4500 like it is suppose to, not anything. The car kinda has done this before, but only for a couple times, then it was fine. I have only owned this car for about 2 and a half months, and it only did that a couple times before. So, the car was working perfectly other than this, Vtec hitting it at 4500 and redlining at 8200. Do you think the wiring is shorted out or something? The map is doing funny things? Please help me out.
     
  2. Junk Yard Dog

    Junk Yard Dog New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Stock Obd1

    People like to use the obd 1 because it can be modified, most of us send our obd 1 ecu to a shop to be maxed out.
     
  3. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    do you have a check engine light? any codes? sounds like limp home mode.

    As for the OBD1 tuning thing, we do not send them away to get "maxed out". You take it to a shop that does tuning, on either a dyno or on the street, and you tune your ECU for the specific parts you have. A tune done without your car at hand will not maximize the potential of your setup. I just want resolve any misinformation.
     
  4. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    How does that answer his question in any way??? It doesn't. If you don't have anything useful to add, then why even say anything?

    To the original poster:

    Do you happen to know what ECU was used?

    It seems like an inappropriate ECU might have been used...either that, or there's some other type of problem and the car has gone into limp mode. Is the check engine light on?
     
  5. scamcorp

    scamcorp New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Check engine light is on, but I know why

    The o2 sensor was uninstalled up in Washington to pass emissions by the previous owner, so the check engine light is on already. I have read that a series of triggers from sensors have to be met to let vtec kick over, I am assuming one of the sensors isn't triggering because of it being faulty, or of a wire that goes to that sensor. I don't think the ECU is wrong, the car was working just to sweet before.
     
  6. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Hmmm...well I'd get a working oxygen sensor in there ASAP, because not only is it causing the CEL to be on, but the car's probably not running as well as it could be simply because the sensor isn't relaying any info to the computer.

    Once you get a working sensor in there, unplug the battery for ten mins and let the ECU reset, and then take it for a drive and see how it feels. If the CEL comes back then you'll know something else is wrong as well, and at that point you'll probably have to pull the code and see what it says.
     
  7. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    i think if you just worded that wrong, and you meant he replaced the o2 sensor so he could pass emissions, i would say that area is good. if your bold enough to go under the dash, you can try and tell us the codes you may have. follow the instructions in this link: List of ECU Warning Codes - Team Integra and tell us the error code(s) (the number) you get. then we can give you more accurate direction.
     
  8. 1988hondacrxsiR1

    1988hondacrxsiR1 Banned

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest
    THIS PAGE IS UNIVERSAL FOR HONDA/ACURA CEL's
    GOOD LUCK!;)
     
  9. 1988hondacrxsiR1

    1988hondacrxsiR1 Banned

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest
  10. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    honestly, those are not universal. those are just OBD1. and i bet he has no idea how to pull the codes...

    that's y my link is better :)
     
  11. 1988hondacrxsiR1

    1988hondacrxsiR1 Banned

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest
    obd 0 1 and 2
    and integra too and the link has an actual page for the real deal and this hondaswap.com has one too the problem is the noob does not want to f**king research the answers are right in the front home page. duh;)
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page