1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GSR swap (IACV issue)

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by StocknSlow, Nov 26, 2007.

  1. StocknSlow

    StocknSlow New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Hey everyone,

    I just did a OBD1 GSR swap into a '98 Civic DX. I used the DX wiring harness.

    Wondering how you wire up the IACV from the GSR to work in the Civic. The two wires coming off the GSR IACV are yellow and red, and just want to know where you need to wire in the DX.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,482
    Likes Received:
    390
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    You need to do a 3 wire to two wire conversion. The stock DX harness should have a 3 wire plug. Cut the 3 wire plug off, and replace it with the GSR plug for the IACV. The GSR should only have two wires, but the colors should match up, and you should be left with one unused wire on your DX harness. I'm not 100% though because the GSR plug will be OBDI. I'm almost positive this is what you have to do though. Can someone verify?
     
  3. dtob

    dtob New Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
  4. StocknSlow

    StocknSlow New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Yeah, a few minutes after making this thread I found those diagrams...

    Well, I did the 3-to-2 plug conversion, and now the car idles pretty well, but there is no VTEC switchover. The engine will rev as high as I want it to (not really sure what RPM because no tach), but there is no audible VTEC engagement. I'm running an open header now so I would definitely hear it...

    I don't think the IACV and VTEC issue are related, but I'm just going through the issues one at a time...

    I took it out for a drive after fixing the IACV situation, and after going WOT the check engine light came on and it sounded like the engine was damaged internally or had a bad mis-fire. I could give it a lil throttle, but anything much over idle and it sounded like the engine was starving for fuel. I also noticed that oil was leaking from the head, but that was there before it started running badly...
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2007
  5. dtob

    dtob New Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007

    Sounds like you might have your TPS and MAF switched or an o2 sensor isn't plugged in.
     
  6. killercannible

    killercannible Senior Member

    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Honda dosn't use maf sensors it uses map sensors. If you were to swap the tps and map sensors the engine would not run so this is not your issue.
     
  7. dtob

    dtob New Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007

    Sorry wrong key MAP. Yes the engine would run. And it wouldn't get above idle speed. Try it.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page