1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

H22a engine bogs and wont go pass 2000

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by ekh22, Jun 8, 2013.

  1. ekh22

    ekh22 New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Ok I'm having some issues. I just done a h22a swap in a 96 civic dx coupe(manual trans). It starts up but when I press down on the accelerator it bogs down. Now I'm using a phearable ecu with a h22a base map. The motor is obd2. But I'm using a obd1 harness. The p5m I have makes it run like crap and so does the chipped one. The ks is hooked up, added a resistor box, checked the firing order on the Injectors and dizzy. The dizzy has the big plug so that tells me it's also obd2. The vacuum diagram I used isn't working out. I'm running outta answers quickly.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,092
    Likes Received:
    188
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    called limp mode, limp home, check codes
     
  3. ekh22

    ekh22 New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Will do that. Going gets codes check
     
  4. ekh22

    ekh22 New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Ok so I just went to the auto parts store to get some codes ran and just my luck, with the p5m plugged in it couldn't establish a link. So no codes read.
     
  5. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,092
    Likes Received:
    188
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    somebody will correct me, but there are certian pins you can jump to make the CEL light flash the codes, I just prefer obd0, has a light on the ecu
     
  6. ekh22

    ekh22 New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Yeah I believe it's a little green two prung plug under the glove box. Unless its not properly pushed in to the connector. I'm gonna go under the hood and remove the fuse to try and reset the ecu.
     
  7. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,092
    Likes Received:
    188
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    you could allways pull the positive terminal off the battery post, touch the terminal over to the ground and put it back on , allways been told that will reset the ecu, or just let it set overnight with the battery unplugged , but if its in limp mode, its prob going to stay in limp mode till the problems fixed, just check codes, google how to read obd1/2 ecu codes , or use our search bar, you will be suprised what you can find and not have to make a thread
     
  8. ekh22

    ekh22 New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Yeah I've done a decent bit of research but not many post on 96 civic h22a hybrids. But yeah I'lldo that thanks for your help
     
  9. josh_crewdson@y

    josh_crewdson@y New Member

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    nova
    Why do you have a resistor box wired in?
    as far as I know, obd2 H's don't need them with the stock injectors.
    My h22 type s doesn't have one.
     
  10. ekh22

    ekh22 New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    I read that I needed one for jdm h22a. On several different forums. My swap is in a dx civic coupe. 1996. There are a lot of things that mine didn't have. Like a vps. I had to get one to screw in and wire up. Even after that its still cutting off. Do you have 2 o2 sensors hooked up to your h22a swap? Mine came with a down pipe for one. Also this vacuum lines thing is driving me crazy. You wouldn't happen to have a vacuum diagram that's accurate for a ek would u?
     
  11. ekh22

    ekh22 New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    I'm also using a phearable chipped ecu with h22a base map.
     
  12. josh_crewdson@y

    josh_crewdson@y New Member

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    nova
    I have an 01 h22 type s running its 01 obd2 ecu in my 99 ex.
    No injector resistor box.
    Only US OBD2 ECU'S use a secondary o2.
    What do you need to hook up to the intake manifold vacuum?
    All I have is my brake booster to its own nipple, evap canister to the evap purge solenoid, cruise control to its own nipple. Those should be all your body to manifold vacuum connections.
    Map sensor should be on the throttle body already, evap purge should be hooked to the manifold via vacuum hose already, pcv should be hooked up from the valve to the manifold vacuum already.
    You're running an odb1 ecu?
    what year is the motor?
     
  13. ekh22

    ekh22 New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Yeah of my motor is 97+ I ordered it from JDMSource in Canada. They sent me a well suppose to be a obd2 jdm h22a. The starter and dizzy are obd2. I have a p5m that came with the swap and ordered a phearable chipped ecu with h22a base map. Give me a minute I can get a diagram and show you how mine is hooked up
     
  14. ekh22

    ekh22 New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    must warn you i suck with Paint. but this is the best i could do. On some diagrams ive seen ive noticed there are more outlets. But mine seem to have more outlets which are some you'll see thats circled. :confused:. (sigh) this is how mine was put together and i'm trying to put it right. if you can pm me
     

    Attached Files:

  15. ekh22

    ekh22 New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    This is my intake manifold. Since my picture sucked I uploaded this
     

    Attached Files:

  16. josh_crewdson@y

    josh_crewdson@y New Member

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    nova
    Is the check engine light on? If so, what codes is it throwing?
     
  17. ekh22

    ekh22 New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Funny thing, my cel lights not working. After the swap was done its not picking anything up. It's showing "cannot establish a link" when they hooked it to the scan tool. And I had my p5m hooked up
     
  18. josh_crewdson@y

    josh_crewdson@y New Member

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    nova
    That's because you're running an obd1 ecu.
    There is a two pin plug in a rubber cap located above the ecu under the dash on the passenger side.
    Put a paperclip across the two pins and watch the check engine light on the dash.
    Use this link for help:
    OBD 1 CEL codes...here....
     
  19. ekh22

    ekh22 New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    No I did a reset and hooked my p5m up when it was saying that. I didn't have the chipped one hooked. Ill try another reset and see what happens. But the pin in the two pin connector, yeah I tried that. That's why I'm thinking the light is out. I'll check that later. Kinda only have limited time to work on it after work
     
  20. josh_crewdson@y

    josh_crewdson@y New Member

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    nova
    Does the light come on and go off when you turn the key on?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page