1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

H22a swap to a non vtec accord?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> BA-BB /CA-CD' started by titewhiteaccord, Dec 4, 2003.

  1. titewhiteaccord

    titewhiteaccord Junior Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    I am thinking of getting an h22a motor for my 96 accord non vtec. I was woundering if it was possible to but in the h22a in my car even tho its not a vtec right now?
     
  2. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane
    If your car isn't equipped with VTEC right now, it means you have to add two extra wires when doing the swap.
     
  3. Jason90accord

    Jason90accord Junior Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    What two wires do you need ?
     
  4. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane
    For VTEC, you need the VTEC solenoid and pressure switch wires.
     
  5. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    for VTEC you need two, but you still have to add the knock and IAB wires. This should be pinned. It's probably in the FAQ, definitely around if you search. I wish I would have wrote up a how to, but I was too new when I did it. I've learned so much more since then......
     
  6. 90h22accord

    90h22accord Junior Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003

    yea i had to add the 2 vtec wires and the knock sensor but i jus left out the IAB. Is there even a differnce if u add the iab or not? I heard you get more low end torque with the IAB off but less high end hp and with the IAB on you get vice versa. I wonder if its tru...
     
  7. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane
    No, the IAB gives you the best of both worlds. It allows for low-end torque (long intake runners) and high-end power (short runners). If you don't use the IAB's, you're missing out on some top-end power.
     
  8. 90h22accord

    90h22accord Junior Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    oh really? hmm.. well i think i should connect my iab then
    but damn dat would mean more labor time and adding another wire... im lazy lol
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page