1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How much horsepower from a D15B2 ?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by alexfleury, Sep 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alexfleury

    alexfleury New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hills of East Tenn
    I have a 1991 4 door that I bought recently, and I like the car enough that I plan to repair everything it needs and bring it back to stock form and use it as a daily driver.

    BUT I need a little more horsepower for some traffic situations.

    QUESTIONS :

    1. Can I install MPFI on the motor in the car and get more power? What all would have to be changed? What kind of hoesepower would I expect? How much would it probably cost?

    2. Can I install another SOHC head and MPFI and get more power? What kind of head would I use? What all would have to be changed? What kind of horesepower increase would I expect? How much would it probably cost?

    3. Can I install a non-VTEC DOHC head and MPFI and get more power? What kind of head would I use? What all would have to be changed? What kind of horsepower increase would I expect? How much would it probaly cost?

    I hope that the more knowledgeable than me here (uhh that's everyone lol) can give me some insight into what it would take to just get a little more power from my car. Again I want to keep it as stock as possible, including keeping the cruise control and AC working.

    Thank y'all for the info and for a geat site.

    Alex
  2. D16a6EF

    D16a6EF New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River NJ
    if ur running a D-series u cant swap a dohc head, u definitly can swap sohc vtec head

    and yes you can swap MPFI from DPFI and its much better than DPFI cause DPFI has 2 injectors and MPFI has 4 injectors, id recommend swap a sohc vtec head
    but you will have to rewire for vtec solenoid and what kind of motor ur running?

    Possilbe nearly 100hp's
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2007
  3. alexfleury

    alexfleury New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hills of East Tenn
    The car is comepletely stock. D15B2, 0BD0

    Didn't really want to do the VTEC conversion, just find a way to get a little more power and stay as stock as possible.

    What parts would have to be changed to do the MPFI conversion?

    Thanks
    Alex
  4. D16a6EF

    D16a6EF New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River NJ
    nothing really need to changed the mpfi swap, just add the extra wiring because it have 2 extra wiring for injectors and get ecu that have MPFI possible from CRX, and you can swap any HEAD, but id suggest you to do the mpfi and get ecu then boost it or buy D16a6 :)
  5. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron.

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,939
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    i have a obd o si dist and ecu and a obd 0 teg harness if you want it.
  6. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    28,408
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    For MPFI, you need everything from the intake manifold gasket back to the intake system, then wiring for the two extra injectors (can find diagrams by searching for "MPFI conversion," it's only 4 added wires) and MPFI distributor, then you need an MPFI ECU and the aforementioned distributor. There are quite a few PM6 (88-91 Civic Si) and PR4 (90-91 Integra) ECUs available that will do the job.
  7. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    8,443
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Just do MPFI+Si camshaft setup. You'll also need a D16Y8 camshaft. This will net you to around 90whp; a very noticeable gain.
  8. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    28,408
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Huh? You can't put a D16Y8 camshaft into a D15B2 head. Why would you need a Y8 cam when you're already recommending an Si cam?
  9. alexfleury

    alexfleury New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hills of East Tenn

    Can you give me even a rough idea how much this might cost? I mean , are we talking $100 $500 $1000 ??

    Is this enough to get a noticeable horsepower increase? I like the car a lot as is, but it needs just a little more acceleration in some traffic situations.

    One more question that is real important to me, can I still make the cruise control work?

    Thanks

    Alex
  10. Dct5289

    Dct5289 GT5 FTW

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Daphne, Alabama
    At first I was like -_-

    but then,

    I lol'd ^_^
  11. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    28,408
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    It can be done for under $100 if you're looking in the right places. Most of those parts are cast-offs for quite a few tuners, so with a little scrounging around you can get them fairly cheap.

    As far as more acceleration, you could set it up to run on premium gas and chip your ECU with a more aggressive fuel and ignition map when you're done- that will give a significant increase.

    Cruise control can still work, but you'll have to reroute the throttle cable since the throttle body will be in a different location and orientation.
  12. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    8,443
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Whoop's I meant camgear. The B2 camshaft is indexed half a tooth differently from the A6(when installed on the D15B2; the difference in index is caused by the different deck height/timing belts), and the Y7/Y8 cam gear fixes this.
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2007
  13. Roadwarrior1

    Roadwarrior1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am planning on doing this same swap with the d16y8 head an this is very usefully stuff but old notes huh
  14. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    28,408
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Yeah, and start another thread if you're going to ask questions about it. :locked2:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page