1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HP Touchsmart 600 Quad series

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by Hondadude141, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. Hondadude141

    Hondadude141 ¿pɐǝɥ ɹn ɥʇıʍ uıop nɥɔʇɐʍ

    Messages:
    2,621
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    TX
    So I was in office depot yesterday and saw this computer, and it was definitely different, and I'm really not familiar with all-in-one comps at all but when I got home I looked up some reviews on it and Cnet has tied for first with the iMac.

    So I guess my question is does anyone in here have an all-in-one comp, or has anyone had experience with them? I figured I'd ask before dropping a grand or more on a comp. I don't really have room for a full blown desktop so I thought this with be a great alternative, and some of the programs on it are really cool considering its touch operated. Discuss!
     
  2. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    its HPs version of the iMAC...
     
  3. corvetteguy78

    corvetteguy78 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    290
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    I don't get it, you have room for a 23" Pc monitor a mouse and keyboard but no room for a simple tower mouse and keyboard and monitor? O i get it your 20 and want cool touch screen

    Usualy when people don't have room for a PC setup they get a Laptop.
     
  4. Hondadude141

    Hondadude141 ¿pɐǝɥ ɹn ɥʇıʍ uıop nɥɔʇɐʍ

    Messages:
    2,621
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    TX
    You got me!

    .... Its going to be mounted on a wall, I don't have room for a traditional desktop because I'm not going to have a huge desk underneath of it, just something small to use the keyboard on. I have a laptop but its an outdated Dell 1501 I don't really need it for its portability anymore because all my school work is done online, when I'm at home. Just thought this might work because of the space restrictions and it looked like it could do what I want it to do.

    Now have you used this computer? Any reviews? If not, I don't need someone telling what I should get, unless its someone talking about a different brand of all in one. Keep your comments to yourself unless they are about the original question. Thanks.
     
  5. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,456
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    spending more than $300 on a computer is just stupid if you ask me in today;s market. there's frankly no good reason to do so, unless you are an architect/etc and need to run autocad or some other crazy software that needs 8 cores and 12 gigs of ram to run.

    In 2-3 years, that thing will be a piece of shit and worth $8. Ok, maybe $9.

    I'm a computer professional. I log at LEAST 12 hours of pc time a DAY, nearly every day between work + play.

    I have a $299 acer aspire m3400 that i got at staples when it was on sale off the shelf and it does everything i need it to do from coding, watching movies, photoshop, etc etc etc.

    TD has a refurb for 389... which means i got a damn good deal on it.
    Acer Aspire AM3400-U2502 Microtower Desktop PC - AMD Athlon II X2 Processor 215 2.70GHz, 4GB DDR3, 640GB HDD, DVDRW, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit at TigerDirect.com

    but, point is, it can be done. With black friday around the corner, a good deal can be had on a nice machine without blowing a grand. and just about ANY monitor can be wall-mounted, and those are also cheap. 22" lcd for about 150 all day.
     
  6. corvetteguy78

    corvetteguy78 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    290
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    CT
  7. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Most all-in-ones are made from laptop parts. As such, they're not as fast as desktop counterparts for the buck and replacing anything outside a hard drive or RAM, is going to be difficult and expensive. With that said, the HP compared to the iMac:

    HP - much much faster processor, more RAM and more hard drive space
    iMac - much better graphics card and better screen

    I think Dell may also have an all-in-one as well, but im to lazy to look at the specs.

    Anyway, if you got money to burn, pick the one you like most. They'll be roughly equal in performance sans the iMac because most will probably be built with the same parts; a lot like laptops where you'll see manufacters using a lot of the same parts as each other in the same price range.

    if you're concerned about space, have you thought about building your own mini-itx system? the tower itself is usually no bigger than two shoe boxes stacked together or bigger than a xbox360 depending on what kind of performance youre looking at. then you can get a 1080p tv and use it as a monitor and tv all well within $1000 - 1500 for everything.
     
  8. Hondadude141

    Hondadude141 ¿pɐǝɥ ɹn ɥʇıʍ uıop nɥɔʇɐʍ

    Messages:
    2,621
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    TX
    Holy me being a dick Batman. Sorry man, I didn't mean to come off as one...

    Ill look into it. But black friday shopping isn't going to happen, I'm too hopped up on vicodin during the day to drive around a lot and when I'm out I can't be up on my foot too long otherwise ill pay for it later.


    Just looked into some Mini ideas, that may actually work.

    I guess overall, I just need to look around more because there are more options than the "cool touch screen" lol, so Ill postone this one for now, but feel free to share any ideas you may have though.
     
  9. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    if you dont game, do heavy video/photo editing, CAD work, etc... spending more than $1000 on a computer is very difficult to justify.

    and just some fyi, intel and amd are both releasing new micro architectures very soon: within the coming months. why is it important?

    a new uarch "usually" means 15-20% better performance all around, cooler running, and uses less power; "usually." and with preliminary results, these all look to be true for both companies. so if you could, id wait till the dust settles to get a new system, but if you need one, you need one.
     
  10. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,456
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    There's always cyber monday and ordering online/etc. you don't have to physically go to a store to get a good deal.
     
  11. Hondadude141

    Hondadude141 ¿pɐǝɥ ɹn ɥʇıʍ uıop nɥɔʇɐʍ

    Messages:
    2,621
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    TX
    Yeah I've been watching online for deals and the ads in the papers and what not.

    And Ill watch out for that Endless, I don't need one RIGHT now, but sometime within the next two months is probable, my laptop is giving me more problems everyday (its 6 years old) so as soon as it goes itll have to be within a few days because of my school work. And I've started getting into music editing, and FL studio still runs a little slow on my buddies computer which has an i3 processor in it, so I'm looking for a i5, or really an i7 in the 2.9 - 3.2Ghz range..

    AND I just found a MSI that is the first in its kind being that it has 3D capabilities, and yes before you go saying I sound like a 20 year old ago, that could actually save me some money because I wouldn't have the need for a tv... okay, that sounds retarded. scratch that.

    Ill just keep a look out for some mini/small tower computers and/or the all in ones that might go on sale for a little less.
     
  12. corvetteguy78

    corvetteguy78 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    290
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    My friend runs FL Studio on a Dell Dimension 4600 Win XP with 2 gigs of ram and he DJ's and makes music. I would be really really really shocked if it could not run on Intel I3, something must be wrong with his computer

    Anyways check out the Levono IdeaCentre if your really hard up on getting an all i one touch screen

    Lenovo IdeaCentre A700 4024-4BU All-In-One PC - Intel Core i5-460M 2.53GHz, 4GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, DVDRW, Mobility Radeon HD 5470, Bluetooth 2.1, 23 Multi-Touch Display, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit at TigerDirect.com

    Or you can spend half that and still have a great performance PC

    Lenovo IdeaCentre Q700 30151NU Desktop PC - Intel Pentium Dual Core E5400 2.70GHz, 4GB DDR2, 500GB HDD, DVDRW, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit at TigerDirect.com

    monitorViewSonic VX2450wm-LED 23.6 Widescreen LCD Monitor - 1080p, 1920x1080, 16:9, 1000:1 Native, 20000000:1 Dynamic, 5ms, VGA, DVI, Built-in Speakers, Tilt at TigerDirect.com
     
  13. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    werd. audio doesnt work pcs too much, even with encoding and sampling. most taxing will be graphical work like photoshop or lightwave or any sort of rendering including gaming.

    anyway, if you do end up doing such work, youre gonna want to hit yourself if you get an all-in-one or a sub $1000 laptop.

    if you do get an i7 system, DO NOT get anything outside 9xx series because the i7 8xx series is EOL (end-of-life) very soon and you will have an upgrade path to 6 cores down the road. of course, this is for desktops.
     
  14. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,456
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
  15. Hondadude141

    Hondadude141 ¿pɐǝɥ ɹn ɥʇıʍ uıop nɥɔʇɐʍ

    Messages:
    2,621
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    TX
    Still a little outdated.... dual core, DDR2? eh... I'll pass..
     
  16. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,456
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    sure, it's outdated... but you don't need anything more powerful than that. that computer will FLY for anything relating to internet/email/office stuff.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page