I'm very new

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

tdg

Ok. I recently bought a bone stock 2000 Civic Si.
Forgive my ignorance but I am not very knowledgeable about the mechanics of cars. I have some basic knowledge, and follow Hondas etc. but I couldn't troubleshoot jack shit.
If anyone has the patience to give me a few pointers I'd appreciate it.

Is there anything special anyone knows about the 2000 Si that might come in useful ? I'm keeping the thing stock, but I mean like some maintenance etc. issues. I've filled it with premium gas so far; but don't know if I need to.
I know that oil should be changed every 3000 miles? What about buying oil, and would I need to change it all out or what. Hah, I took an auto basics class in highschool but I can't remember much.
The car has 70,000 miles and it was babied. The previous owners took extremely good care of it. So, no need to really worry about things, because it checks out in that regard. No racing and no rice in its past.
Still I can't help but wonder if there's anything I should watch.

One thing that's bugging me. The rear left seatbelt is stuck; like, it won't pull out at all, and it is completely tight to the seat. This is weird, and I opened the trunk and checked out the parts for the thing but am afraid to fuck with it too much because I don't know if I'll break something.

I know i'll probably think of something else but for now that's it. thx

seatbelts have a lifetime warranty from honda. drive it to any dealer, and they will fix it for free.

70k, i'd look into doing a timing belt, water pump, plugs, wires, etc... check to see if the previous owner did a 60k servce on it

For the oil I recomend any synthetic oil and a k&n filter. They aren't really things you need but they make your enging run better, although they also cost more. K&N makes the best filters :D