1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LS/Vtec Wiring/ECU

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by jits1980, Oct 10, 2008.

  1. jits1980

    jits1980 New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Hey Guys I have a quick question. I am in the process of building a LS/Vtec. I have a 92 LS integra and a 94 GSR Head. We are almost done building, but i need to drive my car. Will my car drive correct if I do not do the wiring for the vtec. I heard that if I don't run the Vtec wire it will run like a regular LS, is this correct? Also question on which ECU should i be using? p72 obd1? Please email me if you can help.
     
  2. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    Yeah, it'll just run like an LS if you use your ls ecu. If you try running a vtec ecu and just not wire in vtec, knock, and the iab's, it'll run like shit.

    Now, as far as if you should run a p72 or not, that depends on if you are going to use the stock GSR manifold with the iab's. If you do, then the p72 is what you want. If you plan on running an aftermarket intake manifold such as a skunk2, then you could use several other ecu's and have them socketed, tuned, and chipped for your application.
     
  3. jits1980

    jits1980 New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    How about a Vtec controller instead of running a ECU? Will this work just as well as the ECU? Im thinking about runing a vtec controller for now and wire the ECU later
     
  4. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    Dont waste the money on a VTEC controller. Just do it right from the beggining and save yourself some cash.
     
  5. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    That wont work becuase when vtec engages it doesnt just go to the bigger cam profile, the ECU tweaks fuel and timing maps too.
     
  6. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    Actually, Vtec controllers like the VAFC allow you to change fuel settings however, it's still a bad idea.

    Also, you can't replace an ECU with a VTEC controller. The ECU controls all the functions of the car. And running a LS ECU with a VTEC controller would suck because you'll still be limited to the low redline as to where VTEC makes all of it's power up top.
     
  7. jits1980

    jits1980 New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    so if i get a p72 obd1 ecu will this plug into my 92 integra plugs or do i need a harness, also then i would just have to find which pin to wire the vtec to the ecu.What about a knock sensor? im just trying to get an idea b/c a shop is doing it but i want to be sure what could happen ect,.
     
  8. xXxcaoticxXx

    xXxcaoticxXx ©aotic-©reations

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    killeen texas
    i have a pr3 laying around if you use the after market manny....let me know. im running a vafc 2 in mine and it makes life alot simpler.
     
  9. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    92+ integras are obd1 so if you get an obd1 p72 you'll be fine but like I said, the p72 has the functions for the iab's on the stock gsr manifold, if you plan to run an after market manifold that doesn't use the iab's, then you have much more ecu choices other than just the p72. If you use the stock gsr manifold, you're pretty much limited to just the p72.

    As far as the knock sensor goes, that also depends on what ecu you use. If you use an ECU that looks for it i.e. the p72, p30, p61... Then the shop either has to drill a spot in the LS block and install it or you'd have to get the ecu chipped and have it disabled.

    I suggest you get all the parts you're going to use then from there you'll be able to see all your options.

    Do you not trust the shop who's doing the work? They should know what they are doing, at least I hope they know what they are doing...
     
  10. jits1980

    jits1980 New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    I am using the stock manifold. does anyone know where is a good spot for the Knock Sensor. I still have to get it, is it cheaper/better to get the ecu programed not to look for it? I trust the guy doing it, its just that this is his first ls/vtec swap. I have not gotten the ECU either, but i have seen on **Bay** that are chipped ecu's (p28, p06 ect) anyone use these?
     
  11. D15Beater

    D15Beater HNFTuning

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Concord N.C.

    If you dont wire vtec a LS in another car would wear you ass out on the street/strip. Heres how to wire you vtec....

    [​IMG]
     
  12. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    Depends on how much you trust the tuner. Since you dont have the sensor itll be cheaper to delete it from the ECU. but do you trust the tuner enough to tune your motor without a knock sensor?
     
  13. jits1980

    jits1980 New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    how about the ECU you see on Ebay. P72 chiped not to look for knock sensor goes for like $200. also what about the ones that are converted ecu's? anyone use these?
     
  14. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
  15. jits1980

    jits1980 New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    What about this ECU?





    YOU ARE BIDDING ON A FULLY PROGRAMED AND CHIPPED OBD1 p72 SKUNK2 RACE ECU.(NOT JUST CHIPPED LIKE EVERONE ELSE!!) EVERY PERFORMANCE PART ON YOUR CAR WILL GAIN POWER FROM THIS ECU BECUASE UNLIKE THE IT WILL LEARN YOUR CAR AND DETERMINE HOW TO RUN IT BEST FOR MORE POWER!!!! THIS ECU IS PERFECT FOR STREET / STRIP USE. THIS ECU IS DIRECT FIT FOR 92-95 HONDA/ACURA. 96-01 WILL REQUIRE THE OBD2-OBD1 CONVERSION HARNESS($75 UPON REQUEST). THIS ECU IS IDEAL FOR 94-01 INTEGRA GS-R. THIS ECU HAS:


    • [*]
      UPGRADED AIR/FUEL RATIO
      [*]
      ADVANCED TIMING
      [*]
      DUAL STAGE VTEC ENGAGEMENT@ 4600rpm's/5800rpm's REV LIMITER@ 9600 rpm's



    • [*]
      FOR M/T ONLY
      [*]
      ECU WILL NOT LOOK FOR KNOCK SENSOR!

    • 1 YEAR DEFECT WARRANTY!!!!!
     
  16. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    STAY FAR AWAY FROM THAT SHIT!!!

    'Will learn your car' screams 'I'M FULL OF BULLSHIT'.

    There is no chip you could get that could run your car properly. Those chips are just a 'guess' so to speak. They make your car run rich as hell and advance the timing way too much.

    You need someone to tune your car and burn a chip specifically for your motor...end of story.
     
  17. monotech

    monotech Member

    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Yeah thats true bro those ebay chips suck. Thats why they sell so cheap cause they are generic and untuned. Instead of making power you will end up hurting the motor.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page