1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

map sensor?

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by 99sidude, Jun 17, 2007.

  1. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    I just installed a b7 in my hatch... the car is running, but is throwing a code for the MAP sensor. When I put the car together, I didn't have any of the right size intake hose so I just bolted a cone filter right to the throttle body. Would this be causing my problem? because I checked the wiring and it looks good. Also, the car has a surging idle. Would this be caused by the MAP?
     
  2. welfare

    welfare Ancient Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    surging idle is either the thermo valve (if equipped) or the idle air control valve, to figure out which one it is, take the cone filter off, and look into your throttle body, there will be 2 holes, toward the firewall side, the hole toward the top is for the iac, the other one is for the thermo valve.
    Start the engine and wait for it to start doing the surging idle.
    Take your finger and plug the bottom hole and see if the idle smoothes out, if not try the top hole. Once you determine which hole it is you will know what to replace.
    I have o clue about your map sensor tho, and the cone filter should have no affect on it.
     
  3. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    what engine did you have before the B7? do you have the MAP connected? are you getting code 3 or code 5?
     
  4. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    i had an obd1 jdm b18c in the car before. if i can remember, my stock b7 had the MAP mounted on the firewall, and the one I have now has it on the throttle body.
     
  5. welfare

    welfare Ancient Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    u know what, I just thought of something, surging idle can be caused by an air leak too, and if the ecu sees 0% throttle and not alot of vacuum it may throw a code for the map sensor, just thinking out loud, but tought Id throw it out there.
     
  6. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'll check that. Today I pulled the map sensor off of my gsr motor and replaced the one on the b7. The car continues to throw the MAP sensor code.. It idles around 1100. I fixed the bouncy idle for the most part by fiddling with the timing. The car will start right up and idle well, but does not like to be reved up. The car basically has no power when I drive it. I dont think its a compression issue as the car isnt smoking at all (a compression test will tell all tho).
     
  7. welfare

    welfare Ancient Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    swap the MAP and TPS plugs, and get back to me.
     
  8. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
  9. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    ok, so the fucker who owned the motor before me stripped out the bolts holding the tps on, and had it JB welded. I had to pull the TB off and drill them out. I got the sensors switched over and its still running the same... maybe a bit better. We screwed with the timing and got it to rev up decently on the road. Problem is it still is absolutely horrible down low, and is still throwing the MAP code.
     
  10. welfare

    welfare Ancient Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    without the map working correctly you will run like crap, maybe just run fresh wires from the map straight to the ecu, there arepinouts in the refrence section
     
  11. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    ok... today I pulled the iac valve and cleaned it by spraying brake cleaner into it. after startup the car idles much better and drives much better! its throwing 2 codes now tho: #3 (map sensor) which it has been throwing, and now #14 for the iac valve. The car drives and accelerates great except for bogging badly under 2k rpm's and running rich
     
  12. welfare

    welfare Ancient Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    plug your iac back in, if it is plugged in, then reset the compter and try again. It may be throwing the iac code from when you took it out and mabe left your key on, or maybe you just simply forgot to plug it back in, it happens.
    did you check on the map wiring yet?
     
  13. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    i checked the map wiring... looks good to me.
    i'll try resetting the ecu today
     
  14. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    alright... I am still having the same issues. I am throwing code 3 for the MAP sensor, and the car is really sluggish and feels like its missing at low rmp's (under 3k) at part throttle. I noticed that when i am at WOT even at low rpm's, the car runs fine. Keep in mind that I already replaced the MAP sensor with one from my b18c that I know works. I took apart the entire intake maifold and throttle body and cleaned everythin, and Im still stumped. Any ideas?
     
  15. welfare

    welfare Ancient Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    did you ever try swapping those plugs, map and tps??
     
  16. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
  17. welfare

    welfare Ancient Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York
  18. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
  19. welfare

    welfare Ancient Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    Ok, let me ask you this, you used to have the map mounted on the firewall, is that where the wires were/are too, In my 93 dx coupe the map was on the firewall and that is where the wires for the map were too, maybe you need to plug it in that way, from those wires.
     
  20. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    yeah, i forgot about that! the only thing is, the new b7 i have has the map on the throttle body. I used the engine harness that came with that motor too. Maybe the ecu pinouts are different. I know for a fact that this is a newer b7 due to the fact that it has a flat aluminum finish, where my stock 93 b7 had a crinkle black finish.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page