1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

my first build

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by eastbxc, Oct 5, 2008.

1. eastbxc

eastbxc Custom User Title

this was picture i took of my 90 std hatch.....i am new to honda and cars so i figured i would just rebuild this car clean it all up and then go for power once i had learned more about cars before i got in head over heals

Attached Files:

2. BrutalB83

BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

So you're just doing a stock rebuild for now then?

3. eastbxc

yeah for now i just need the car to be a good everyday driver....now i am a broke ass college student

4. INJEN78

INJEN78 HS LEGEND

well being broke isnt even good ofr a stock rebuild lol
    but do some research,

5. eastbxc

ofr??

6. Matts96HB

Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

for*

Like Injen said, do some research. There are lots of little steps that you need to take that can make or break the build if not done properly.

7. eastbxc

yeah i kinda didnt want to just do a swap and not have a clue on what i was doing and screw it all up

8. awptickes

awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

Use all stock components, and be sure to hone and crosshatch. Use the correct bearings, and the proper rings for your setup.

It's the break-in that will make your rebuild last.

Trailer -> Dyno Break-in.
    That's the best break-in you can do in the USA.

Here I trailer the car to the highway, pull over to a rest-stop, unload, then rape the shit out of it. Speed up, slow down, speed up, slow down, then get off the highway. Then I've got some mountain roads that I rev the piss out of it on. I've never had a motor fail after it's been rebuilt, and a few of mine now have 40k miles after my rebuild.

9. eastbxc