1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need a good pop-up blocker

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by StealthMode, Nov 21, 2005.

  1. StealthMode

    StealthMode Kung Foolin'

    Messages:
    2,150
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Location:
    Thornton, CO
    I'm sick and fucking tired of all these pop-ups! I have one on my computer, but it doesn't do shit. Do you guys have a recommendation of one that will actually work?
     
  2. VTECPOWER

    VTECPOWER Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    Pop-up stopper from www.download.com, free, but it will block things you click on, so you have to press down control.
     
  3. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    I get one pop up per day and it's from here on HS.

    Ever sinve I swapped over to firefox, I've had no problems.
     
  4. BigJ

    BigJ I'm just about that action Boss. VIP

    Messages:
    11,091
    Likes Received:
    408
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Location:
    Washington
    I've never had problems with ie or fire fox. But even with fire fox, I get one from hondaswap and only hondaswap.

    I just have the built in one in each program.
     
  5. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    i use IE and have google's toolbar installed

    10360 popups blocked to date

    i also use norton, spybot search and destory, and bazooka
     
  6. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas

    Google tool bar is supposed to rock ass.. But I don't get many pop ups. If you get ALOT, you might want to check yourself for spyware or adware.
     
  7. StealthMode

    StealthMode Kung Foolin'

    Messages:
    2,150
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Location:
    Thornton, CO
    I do have Google toolbar. I don't get a whole lot, but there is this one stupid fucking thing called "WinFixer" that comes up every time I open IE. It comes up as a page that says my computer has x amount of problems, and this thing will fix it. I've ran Adaware, and removed a lot of spyware from WinFixer, but I don't know how to get if off for good. I was on a lyrics site, trying to find song titles for this Bob Marley mix I have today, and EACH AND EVERY song title I clicked on, got 4 popups, no joke.
     
  8. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    you get one pop up on HS once per 24 hours. i know they suck, but they pay the bills that keeps this place alive.

    and yeah, i got around most the pop up blockers :p hehe

    but seriously, all you need is firefox. fuck an IE.
     
  9. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    well for a while i didnt even get your ads because i edited my host file. Unfortunately, i was blocking a lot of stuff i actually wanted, so now i get my one pop up a day, courtosey of Brian.
     
  10. StealthMode

    StealthMode Kung Foolin'

    Messages:
    2,150
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Location:
    Thornton, CO
    So, if FireFox will help save me a lot of headache, how do I get it then?
     
  11. silver

    silver Senior Member

    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Location:
    St. Louis
  12. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    theres a link to firefox witht he google tool bar on the home page too.

    and rick: you're welcome :p

    me > you :p
     
  13. Cashizslick

    Cashizslick !i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
  14. StealthMode

    StealthMode Kung Foolin'

    Messages:
    2,150
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Location:
    Thornton, CO
    Ok, when I ran Adaware, my computer shut down and brought up a blue screen. Here's the code it gave me:

    stop: c000021a {fatal system error}
    The windows Logn Process system process terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0xc0000005 (0x00000000 0x00000000). The system has been shut down.

    I have the feeling this has to do with this retarded WinFixer that comes up every time I get in the internet.

    The only other popups that I get are full-screen size popups, like 1 or 2 a day. I need to get rid of this [​IMG].
     
  15. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    1) stop using IE i can't remember the last time i ran adaware or anything else...
    2) http://getfirefox.com
    3) control panel-> add/remove programs -> get rid of everything you have no idea what it is
     
  16. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    And do a search for "hijack this".

    Its an awesome little program that is GREAT for finding some of the hard to get fuckers. Other than that, manually cleaning your registry will usually do the trick. But if you don't know what you're doing, stay the hell out of it.
     
  17. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    and again, unused if you don't use IE....
     
  18. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    :werd:

    I like my browser to NOT run activex controls w/o me knowing about it.
     
  19. StealthMode

    StealthMode Kung Foolin'

    Messages:
    2,150
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Location:
    Thornton, CO
    What are "activex controls"? I'll be downloading FireFox tomorrow night. I'm not going to be home tomorrow. There is some shit in the add/remove programs that is called "HotFix" or some shit. I did do a lot of deleting recently also. I just want to make sure I don't delete anything important.
     
  20. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    active-x controls are what cause most forms of spyware and adware.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page