New to the turbo.

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

sleeper88

My mom thinks i'm cool
Hi, i wasn't going to turbo my car until next winter/spring but i changed my mind. I'm relatively new to the turbo scene. The motor is a jdm b16a1, darton sleeved, 9.5:1 je pistons,crower rods,arp studs,skunk2 valve train,adjustable cam gears,lsd tranny, 6 puck clutch lighten flywheel,header back exhaust and its in a 88 civic hatch. I want to get the most out of this motor without destroying it. So far i'm getting a skunk2 intake manifold, skunk2 70mm throttle body,skunk2 turbo cams. I'm not sure on turbo, i dont know which ones are the best and which can push 30 psi. i want to get the hondata s300 but i think i have to change over the obd1 instead of obd0, i dont know what kind of wastegate or blow off valve(i dont know which are good and which ones are bad.I'm not sure on intercooler size, not sure with turbo size if i should get a slim radiator b/c of the space. I got the car with a downpipe with cat which i think will work but not sure until i get the turbo. i know i will have to upgrade suspension but i'm more worried about the motor right now. I think all the stuff i mention is all the easy stuff so if i missed a lot of the hard stuff i'd be very happy. if you guys could help me on anything else i missed. Remember i'm pretty new to turbos. Thank you for your time and knowledge

how much can you spend and what kinda power are you looking for...your engine is already about as good as it gets, now just get into power goals and budget and we can probably put together a parts list

Geez B...im trying to make up for 2 and a half years of not being here...quit posting so much. thirty-eight thousand posts is hard to catch up to.